We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seen better days...”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Staff at this hotel were very polite and friendly but overall we were disappointed with our stay. First impressions are very important and on arrival we came in via the garden entrance - it was very messy and run down. This theme carries on in the public areas of the hotel where the sailing themed artifacts are all in need of a good dust and delcuttering. The breakfast was very good but sitting in the conservatory area we noticed things like two directors chairs on the patio that looked rotten and the blinds in the same area need replacing as they were also dirty (possible mildew). The room was fine but would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MirandaCourtney, Owner at Villa Rothsay Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to reply. We would like to point out that the entrance to the hotel that you happened to use was indeed via the garden which isn't our official entrance and we are a little bemused as to how you found yourself arriving at that point.

We acknowledge and were aware that some of the garden had become overgrown and therefore a bit untidy. Unfortunately the prolonged period of rain that we have experienced in April & May (the wettest April on record across the UK) has procluded us from being able to get outside to address those parts of the garden whilst at the same time the rain has caused rapid vegetation growth. The couple of directors chairs you correctly identified as 'rotten' have not been used for months as the gardens have been out of action since last Autumn and the chairs had already been earmarked to take to the tip once the weather improved. With the improvement in weather this week the chairs have indeed been scrapped and our team of gardeners have started work in earnest this week.
The blinds in the conservatory as you pointed out are a little tired and we are now planning to replace them.
As for dust in the public areas on the nautical memorabilia or ‘clutter’; rest assured we have been busy with our dusters.
We apologise for your stay not meeting your expectations and are sorry to hear that you would not return.

Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
33
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Having just got back from a business trip on the beautiful Isle of Wight I’ve decided to review.
I was recommended (almost instructed) to stay at the Villa Rothsay by my better half – not it’s not worth ignoring her, trust me, as she'd stayed there with family about 10 years ago.
The moment you walk in the door it’s like being transported back to another time, a truly wonderful experience.

There is only one word in which I can describe it, luxury.

Whether it’s the Victorian splendour-which seems to have been encapsulated in this breath-taking building, stunning views across the Solent, superb customer service or ravishing food this place really has something for everyone.

Rooms: my room was sea facing, so it had a wonderful view and it comes with all the mod cons – tea service, trouser press, hairdryer, FREE high-speed Wi-Fi (this was brilliant, as it meant I could Skype my family back in London.)

Service: The service is second to none; I was ASKED what time I was leaving (instead of the usual “get out by 10am” rubbish)

Food: I ate in the restaurant every night, except for one. Carvery meat, cut straight from the bone in front of your eyes – can’t beat it!
And they have an honesty bar in the lounge, which a very hard to come by these days.

The overwhelming feeling I got from my stay was “they don’t make them like this anymore”

People wanting to visit the island (for whatever reason, business, holiday or weekend getaway), do yourself a massive favour and stay here – it won’t disappoint you.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here on business April 2012. I had been recommended to stay here by one of my colleagues who had been here many times.

The first thing to know is that THIS IS NOT A CHAIN - and it's beautiful because of it. my room was large and overlooked the Solent - I had about a 160 degree sea view. Bed super comfy and nice big telly. free wifi throughout.

so the ambience of the hotel is for me its winning feature - its like staying in an 19th century English vicarage with a nautical bent - Lots of dark furniture, big overstuffed sofa's and armchairs - multiple chaises. And an honesty bar. All in all really convivial

Add up all of that with friendly staff and a belt busting breakfast with proper tea - will I stay here again - yes I will - will I take my family - oh yes

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tangleWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed together with my bf for 1 night at Villa Rothsay end of March. We were suprisingly pleased with everything: location (10min walk max from the pier), beautiful sea view from the balcony, very nicely decorated rooms, excellent quality and cleanliness of the facilities (room, bathroom, hotel areas). The staff was very friendly and ready to help! We were ASKED what time we would like our breakfast to be served!!! Also we asked for a late check-out and that was absolutely no proble wihtout any additional charges!
I really loved the atmosphere - antique, boat-sea-sailing mood and style - if you are looking for something different, with a very good british quality and a bit of nostalgic, historic touch - perfect place for a weekend trip or even a week in summer!
we were a bit early in the season, but there are tons of activities in the town. Having asked hotel staff (Miranda) when we were leaving about "water" activities for our next visit, we recieved a very detailed email with many suggestions/contacts!
loved the place, want to come back in summer!

Room Tip: definitely go for a room with the balcony and the sea view,the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnyaElyasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have to say that this was the nicest hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The owner of the hotel picked us up at the ferry when we arrived, she carried our bags, she drive us to eat at a restaurant down town, she sat with us in the library and told us the history of the area, the list goes on... I have never had service like I had at the Villa Rothsay. I went there on a business trip that time but it is a place I will be going back to on vacation. If you are going to Cowes and you are looking for a total 5 star experience then look no further!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank treyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crail, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Having travelled the globe for the last 20 years I can safely say that this is one of the best hotels in which I have ever stayed. Great room with sea views, fantastic food, first rate service and unique charm. Wi-fi and all mod-cons available. Not to be missed for both personal and business use.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

From the road, you wouldn't think that this Hotel was anything special. However, it's a bit like a tardis once you get inside. Beautiful property, very quirky and full of antiques and nik-naks. We booked a balcony room and chose the one at the top of the property (basically, the attic) The room was lovely, spacious and clean and the views over the Solent were fabulous. A hearty breakfast is served here - fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, juice as well as a choice of cooked items from the menu (we went for the full English and were pretty full up!) toast, tea and coffee.

The staff are great and very attentive to your every need - Thank you Jackie for your directions.....we made it!!

I would go back and I would recommend this Hotel, however, you do need to have deep pockets as I do think the nightly rate is pretty steep. I'm not sure if this is because of the location of the Hotel but we have stayed in other lovely Hotels on the IOW for a lot less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaineyWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
11.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
340 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rothsay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rothsay Hotel

Property: Villa Rothsay Hotel
Address: 29 Baring Road, Cowes PO31 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rothsay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rothsay Hotel & Restaurant is a characterful & charming boutique hotel located near to the Royal Yacht Squadron at Cowes with commanding views from it's many balconies and reception rooms, across the Solent towards the New Forest.The hotel has long been the choice of sailors and business personalities from around the World to meet their accommodation, dining and hospitality needs, as is evidenced by the huge collection of nautical memorabilia throughout the hotel.The 14 bedrooms are all en-suite and offer all mod-cons including LCD Freeview TVs and complimentary WiFi.The perfect place to 'get away from it all' and a perfect base to explore the magnificent Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Villa Rothsay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rothsay Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing