We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and tasty”
Review of The Red Duster

The Red Duster
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red Duster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $52
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: High Speed Ferry
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy and tasty”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We entered this restaurant simply by chance and it was a lucky chance. We have got much more than we could expect. A silent little warm place to sit, eat and talk. A little worn out, but cosy interior. Friendly and attentive waiter - all was just in time. Good wine, nothing special in our case, but good. I definitely can recommend steak with goat cheese as well as vanilla poached pear with sambuca sorbet. Really very good food and friendly service. Only positive emotions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexMoscow1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    39
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy little restaurant”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming and attentive service. I started with the smoked haddock crumble which was very tasty, followed by the sea bass with a caper and anchovy sauce that was delicious. Very impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overall rating - over rated”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our third visit to this restaurant, and it was no better than average, it was busy, and the food was adequate, but at these prices, adequate isn't really good enough, so I'm sorry, it will be another two years (since our last visit) before we will try yet again, the décor is superb, and the service friendly, but overall 3 out of 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good experience all round”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Food was very good with wide choice. All freshly prepared. Staff friendly and all round good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“As good as before.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were having a late lunch at this cosy restaurant. My wife and I come here every year during Cowes week. We had something from the Lunch menu, as good as ever. Vicky the waitress was so helpful and enthusiastic. Made you really feel at home. The wine was excellent for the price we paid. See you hopefully in a years time Red Duster.!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 234Joost234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Duster also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Red Duster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing