We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not that service is an issue”

Toninos Italian Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 61 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bedford, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Its not that service is an issue”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a real authentic mid Italy region restaurant. In such places, they "leave you alone". You can spend the day there, and they will not mind. Now if when you come in you say your in a hurry or just let them know you need to be checked on, then they are all over you. Its a culture thing that some people just do not understand. I found the food good and the portions large. Prices are normal for Cowes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphingvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    60
    35
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I wish I had read the reviews before going to this restaurant. It was truly awful and not friendly in the slightest. We ordered a pizza, tomato pasta, garlic bread, side salad a glass of red wine and gin and tonic and this came to £49.00. They add a 10% service charge (probably because it's the only way they will get tips) so be aware. The couple next to us queried the bill and this should have been a warning sign for us. Our food was on the table less than 5 minutes after ordering so there is no way it was cooked fresh and the pasta tasted like spaghetti hoops out of a tin. Even after trying to add up the bill afterwards we could not work out how it was so expensive. The pasta dish was £6.95 and the pizza was £8.95. Check the bill before paying. Better still, don't go. There was a lovely place just opposite called The Coast which looked lovely. Unfortunately it was fully booked.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly ??”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We visited this restaurant the week after cowes week. and didnt find it very friendly.
I ordered pasta which was ok, but my wife ordered fish which didnt smell very nice so she left it
The people on the next table had the same dish as my wife and also left it.
The prices were high for the meal and wine. plus they add 10% service charge.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cowes week prices”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very ordinairy italian with extraordinairy prices. I think they have a special set of prices for Cowes week. How else do you explain pizzas at £11.00.
Most of Cowes week is a rip off and this restaurant is no different. Not going back to IoW ever.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank windsurfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really poor, very expensive”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Hugely inflated prices, I had a terrible pizza, wife had a very dull pasta and sauce and PLEASE redecorate! Looked very tired

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank triumphspitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toninos Italian Restaurant also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Toninos Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing