We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful place to stay.”
Review of Chale Bay Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chale Bay Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Chale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our first visit to the Isle of Wight has been a wonderful experience.

Part of the reason why we had such a great time was due to the fact that we really enjoyed staying at the Chale Bay Farm.

Great views of the sea and the Needles.

Our room was lovely and warm, as the temperatures outside were so cold!

The room was perfect for our family of four.

Local pub within walking distance provided some scrumptious meals in the evening when we got back from day out.

Every need is thought about and provided for guests.

A great base for seeing the places we visited.

Everyone was so helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were a real treat.

Thanks to Steve for letting out younger daughter play on the original Nintendo pub game!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrmgr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked the superior sea view double/twin room however what we did not have was a view of the sea! Well the sea was there but you could only see it standing by the patio door on the very faaaaaar right! the view of the room was a little green hill and the sky!!!! They should really advertise the room as the "tiny view of the sea" room.

We were taking a nap only to be woken up by the sound of the next door room opening the shower and flushing their toilet!!!! Absolutely Not what you expect on a relaxing stay.

The shower room was relatively clean, the bath tub had the grayish color from overuse and not proper cleaning. Not to forget the dust trapped spider web behind the washbasin!!!!

We asked how we could get to the beach and it was not a close walking distance as we had assumed!

The staff are friendly.

Breakfast was very average.

In general for £108.00 we expected a lot more. Not the quality we expected at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosaferan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Owner at Chale Bay Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It disappoints us on the very rare occasions when guests don't appear to have enjoyed their stay.

These guests had booked for just one night and unfortunately the stunning views we normally have here were curtailed by mist and a low overcast and it sounds from their description that the view over the fields to the cliff and the sea beyond was obscured but they could see under the overcast by looking down the coast.

The quality of our breakfasts, the cleanliness and quality of the rooms and the peaceful environment stand on the merits of our numerous excellent reviews, so it was quite unexpected to find ourselves clearing both their plates with the food barely touched, and to see the other comments made as we and our chambermaids are pretty fastidious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Chale Bay Farm guest house 2 nights this week. Steve and Charlotte are delightful hosts and the rooms are very warm and comfortable. Excellent breakfast and very good biscuits with the in-room tea and coffee. We really enjoyed having a bath sheet as well as a bath towel each and the heated towel rail was fantastic in this week's chilly weather. Steve and Charlotte can book your ferry and organise tours. Their guest house has a lovely view towards the Needles and is close to where a new type of bird fossil was recently discovered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherinespratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently organised a cycling tour of the Isle of Wight for 14 members of North Bristol Cycling Club and was recommnended Chale Bay Farm by a friend of mine who loves on the island. From the moment we started planning the trip both Charlotte and Steve were very helpful and accommdating. When we arrived the rooms were all ready and were as described on their website which was great. The location was an excellent base for our cycling trip and with the pub across the road you cannot ask for much more. Oh, and the full english breakfast was a great way to start the day. Thanks again and no doubt we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location with sea views from our window and patio, a really cozy complex with friendly staff. The room itself was lovely, great attention to detail, possibly the largest and most comfortable bed we've had at any hotel or b&b, minibar with reasonable prices and a pretty high end tv with a USB extender for watching digital media (another very nice touch). We've stayed at many places on the Island but this one is definitely head and shoulder's above local alternatives.

Honestly couldn't recommend this place more, had a great stay.

Room Tip: We opted for one of the rooms with sea view and would happily pay the small premium again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I took the family here for a weekend in January. We have four young children and we often struggle to find a B&B that can accommodate all of us. We were really thrilled with the room they provided for us as we could fit all of the children upstairs to give us some privacy downstairs. They provided cots for the smallest ones, and each of the children got a really cute bear to keep and take home with them.

There were two TVs in the room that even had the iPlayer on them so we didn't miss any of our favourite shows from back home and I was glad that there was good WiFi throughout so I didn't miss any of my business emails (although my wife might have preferred that I had!).

Breakfast is amazing and they will cater to whatever you ask for - the sausages are particularly good as is the fried bread (athough it isn't officially on the menu). The location is great for walking, sight-seeing, and local pubs, and we will definitely be coming back again.

Room Tip: The owners are really helpful - just get in touch in advance and they will arange things to your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The room was big with a very cosy bed. I live in London so sleeping in a room with total silence gave me the best nights sleep I have had in a long time! The room was luxurious and the little touches made me feel the effort put in to this hotel. The view from our room was amazing. A spectacular view of the stars on a clear night.

The owners went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was delightful with a wide choice and always cooked to perfection.

I will most definitely be recommending Chale Bay Farm to all of my friends and family! Thank you for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chale
1 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gothic View
Gothic View
#2 of 4 in Chale
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gotten Manor
Gotten Manor
#3 of 4 in Chale
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chale Bay Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chale Bay Farm

Address: Chale Bay Farm Military Road, Chale PO38 2JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Chale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chale
Price Range: $136 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chale Bay Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and individual guesthouse nestling among rolling fields with stunning views on the south-west of the Isle of Wight. Situated on the Isle of Wight’s Heritage Coastline with uninterrupted sea views to the Needles and the chalk cliffs of Tennyson Down, Chale Bay Farm provides an idyllic and tranquil setting. Originally a Dairy Farm, Chale Bay Farm is set in 26 acres and has modern, purpose built guest rooms set around a relaxing courtyard with water garden, creating bespoke, luxury guesthouse accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Chale Bay Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chale Bay Farm Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing