We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gems”
Review of Gothic View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gothic View
Ranked #2 of 4 Chale B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from IOW and a two night stay at Gothic View. Annemarie & Claude were amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they obviously enjoy looking after their guests as they do it effortlessly & you really feel at home with them. The breakfasts are well worth getting up for, great choice, fresh, beautifully cooked & served with as many cups of tea as required !. Dinner was a rare treat, wonderful tastes, cooked perfectly. Annemarie & Claude know their island well & are able to tell you about the beaches, walks, tourist attractions & much more to make your trip memorable. Gothic view is charming, full of beautiful, quirky items, a wonderful collection of tea pots (used reguarly)& beautiful china. Annemaries collection of vintage clothes & jewellery are well worth a look, you may find a frock or a brooch, with a personal shopper on hand. I highly recommend this B & B, Claude & Annemarie are exceptionally welcoming, real gems & great personalities, perfectly suited to their business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Gothic View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We chose this B=B partly due to other Tripadviser reviews and partly due to the food recommendations . All of the expectations of those reviews were upheld by the experience of a two night stay. The hosts Anne Marie and Claude are affable and interesting , easy to engage with and care about what they do. We had pre-booked a dinner for the first night in advance , discussing the menu by phone a day earlier . It was excellent and both parties played their part in making it a very nice evening as both the food , the ambience and service were of the highest order . We brought out own wine with us as there is no license. Breakfast was a copious affair , fresh fruit, yogourt , muesli ( or cereals of choice), a choice of juices followed by a very good cooked meal consisting of smoked bacon , sausages , mushrooms, herb baked tomatoes ,sauteed potatoes with leeks and eggs any way you liked , followed by toast and good quality marmalade and preserves. Coffee and or tea or herb teas were served.

The decor is eclectic without being too cutesy and the rooms small but comfortable . Above all the place was clean and comfortable . Anne Marie and Claude were excellent hosts and we will returnm and recommend it to friends

Room Tip: We had the family room which faces out to the road . It might be a bit noisy for some but I cant s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Gothic View is a great place to stay!
We only spent one night at Claude and Anne-Marie but really enjoyed their warm welcome (with a cup of tea!) and their help when it came to give us advice on walks and things to see in the area!
Even though we didn't get to taste Claude's dinner, the breakfast was truly amazing, with fresh fruits and products from the local farms!!!

I really felt like being at home, sharing our hosts's lives and not being in an impersonal B&B where you're park in your room!!! Our bedroom was a bit small but the plan wasn't to stay inside for 24 h so it did just what we expected it to do.

Un petit mot pour les visiteurs français... Ce B&B est charmant et vous y passerez un très bon moment si vous recherchez la convivialité, la simplicité des bonnes choses, bref la vraie vie! De plus, Clause sera ravi de pratiquer son français avec vous!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tethys83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

on first approach we did not know that we were outside the right place as the frontage was quite covered and dark and there wasnt an easily visable sign from the road, We spotted the B&B sign and even though we were a couple of hours earlier than we expected Anne Marie welcomed us in and made us both a cup of tea and shared gluten free nougat and biscuits with us. A few minutes later we met Claude who is a lovely chatty French gentleman who has a personality packed with charisma, we could have happily chatted to them both for hours. We were showed to our room and left to ourselves but told if we needed anything just to ask. Well the room wasnt massive but we were only staying for one night so that wasnt a problem for us. i had to walk sideways to get down the bottom of the bed. On one side of the bed was a set of patio doors which opened on to a small patio garden, we were told we could use this if we wished. A small bedside table was on both sides of the bed one was turned on its side i think to save space. There was a small what looked like a china cabinet which i think was to pop clothes in but we didnt bother. There is very little space to do much in the room and once you have a couple of bags in there all space on the floor is taken. The room is kind of shabby chic with a mixture of pictures on the walls. There wasnt a huge amount of bedding on the bed so a sheet and thicker sheet with small throw on top - no duvet, i wasnt really warm enough but my partner was so really its a personal taste thing. The really quirky bit was the door which opens to reveal a very steep narrow set of stairs with a tread so narrow you had to put you foot on sideways to go up it. Walk carefully so to not bang your arms or head on something, but once you master the staircase you reach the top which is your bathroom. This is a lovely quirky aspect but to be honest for me personally after cycling 25 miles to get to the B&B was not very practicle. The bathroom could do with a little tlc just like the bedroom really but at least it was private. I would say if you have any problems with mobility do not book this room as you would struggle. The next thing is television now not everyone needs or likes a television but it is kind of something that most B&B's have nowdays. Gothic View does not have television in the bedrooms which for us wasnt too much of a problem but we also struggled to get any kind of mobile phone signal so all communication/entertainment was cut off pretty much. There is a small portable dvd player which is there to use should you want to. I think this is a place that once you meet Claude and Anne Marie you love the B&B because they are the heart and soul of the place. I personally would love to spend longer with them in the future but the acommodation would be the only thing that would make me think twice. The bed could do with renewing i think it was two singles pushed together and the mattress felt quite lumpy to me but my partner slept well. The pillows were quite flat and covers for someone like me who is naturally cold werent adiquate, lack of wifi, mobile signal and television all would improve the acommodation side of the B&B and all of these things are easily resolved. The next morning the breakfast was the best breakfast we have had in many years and nothing was a problem. I am unable to eat wheat or gluten and a special effort was made to get gluten free bread in for my breakfast and i was asked the night before what i thought i might like. I could eat that breakfast everyday and we really wished we had stayed for evening meal now too. This has honestly been one of the hardest reviews i have written as i always try to put a personal slant on how i found a stay and i was so split as i loved Claude and Anne Marie and their hospitality but the acommodation needs a little upgrading and i would need a little more comfort factor to stay there for longer

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank numee28Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived at the Gothic VIew late on a long day of walking.

The couple who run it are great people. They cooked for us without notice and the food was first rate. Really first rate.

While the place itself is not the most splendid, it was probably our best experience on the island. We would recommend fully. It is way nicer than the 4 star places we stayed in, not pretentious and genuinely warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Do not take it for the rooms, take it for the welcome and the food.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Gothic View is outstanding. Situated in a quiet part of the island it is a lovingly converted chapel and, although the rooms are quirky, everything has been done to make them as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Anne Marie and Claude could not be more attentive, amiable and entertaining hosts and welcome you into their home as friends rather than just guest, nothing is too much trouble. Anne Marie's attention to detail is amazing and the food is of the highest standard. We thought it would be good but Claude's cuisine is world class with a quality and variety that is unbeatable. You will not eat better anywhere so make the most of the opportunity to indulge at a price that is a fraction of what you would pay at a top restaurant without the guarantee of such excellence. We stayed for five nights and our experience at Gothic View made our trip so enjoyable and memorable. It is rare to find such a gem which is infinitely preferable to any luxurious hotel room with impersonal service and mediocre food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolOmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Gothic View is a little off the beaten track. If you are walking as we were, I recommend the bus from Chale to save a couple of miles. However, well worth the trek. We were warmly greeted by Anne Marie and Claude who made us very welcome. We had requested an evening meal (which has to be booked in advance as everything is sourced and cooked to order) and it was superb. Delicious and meticulously presented by Claude and expertly served by Anne Marie. Our hosts were extremely affable and we felt very privileged to have had such a personal experience of fine dining.
The accommodation was spotless and quirky - we had a ground-floor room which had a bathroom up a steep flight of steps, which was a little challenging in the middle of the night. The room was small but comfortable and well decorated. No TV, but we were offered a DVD player!
Breakfast was another lovely meal, which included a variety of preserved fruits and locally sourced eggs, bacon and sausages.
Anne Marie and Claude provided us with an excellent packed lunch of pate, cheeses, salad, bread and fruit.
Great experience. Wonderful people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chale
1.5 mi away
Wight Mouse Inn
Wight Mouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Chale
310 reviews
9.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
316 reviews
6.4 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#36 of 51 in Shanklin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
6.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.7 mi away
Cornerways Ventnor
Cornerways Ventnor
#3 of 18 in Ventnor
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic View

Address: Gothic View Town Lane | Chale Green, Chale PO38 2JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Chale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chale
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gothic View 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gothic View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gothic View Isle Of Wight/Chale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing