We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great space, great view.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Strawberries

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
The open plan living and dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsHolida...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant Retreat”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Directions given were spot on, very easy to find. The cottage is down a long narrow windy track, you can pull your car into the patio area unload then park in the car parking area, the car parking area is up a small incline but very close to the cottage.

The cottage is in the middle of a terrace, the first property is a four bedroom holiday house called the stables, then Strawberries then along from that tucked in the corner is a one bedroom holiday home called The hideaway. A lovely large patio area is in the front of strawberries with your table and chairs just outside the door, patio area is nice and safe surrounded by a 5ft beautiful stone wall.

The cottage is beautiful, very clean and modern. The corner unit sofa was comfortable and big enough for all four of us. Lots of windows making the inside nice and bright, all the curtains are white giving it a nice airy feel.

Lucy, the owner was easily contacted if any problems arose as she has converted the roof space above Strawberries for her living accommodation, very convenient if you are have any questions.

I cooked a couple of dinners whilst there, kitchen is well appointed, would have liked a microwave but not a problem for me.

We had one medium towel and one hand towel each, so the heated towel rails come in handy as the towels are dry the next day.

The en suite shower room has a large walk in shower and low basin, presumably for disabled people. I would advise you speak to Lucy to see if it meets your requirements as there were no grab rails or shower seat, the bed was on casters on a tiled floor.

We had a good holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thank you for your review. With the positive comments, it's a shame to receive just three stars. There is a ramp available for wheelchairs on request and grab rails can easily be added when we receive our first booking which requires disabled access. Shower chairs are available for hire and can be organised through us also. Thank you for your feedback. Best Wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen L
1 review
“Great space, great view.”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Strawberries was wonderful. Huge space with a big kitchen, so we made breakfast everyday before heading out for the day. There were 2 bedrooms, but more importantly 2 bathrooms, which we really enjoyed. Get all the privacy you need :)

It's literally by the water, so the view is amazing and getting to the sea side walk way is so close. I would definitely recommend this place and I would go back when I'm back in the Island.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
Thank you Stephen. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Strawberries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and freshness.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise C
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations :-)”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned after 5 days staying at Strawberries, we wish we could have stayed longer. The location is idealic and secluded enough for you to want to keep this a secret but it's just outside of Ventor town centre for a touch of civilisation and things you may need for your stay. Having said that the owners of Strawberries, Lucy and Sean have been extremely thoughtful in what they supply with the property, all the utensils and equipment you would need are at hand and actually good quality. The fact that there is Wifi and Sky was such a bonus and though we didn't need it, it meant if we got caught out with poor weather we had ways of keeping our young children entertained which was reassuring. As it worked out our children could play safely in the large courtyard whist we were perfectly positioned to be able to keep an eye on them but for them to be able to run around freely and play outside.Strawberries itself was by far more lovely than even the photos could capture, clean spacious, comfortable, quiet and finished to an extremely high standard with a clear eye for detail by the owners. This leads me to Lucy, her correspondence during booking and pre arrival was so quick and she was happy to tell us all we needed to know in advance of our a
stay. During our stay she was so friendly and always available to answer any questions if needed, nothing seemed too much trouble and on this occasion she definitely went the extra mile for my partner and I. ;-) x thank you so much for letting us stay in your little bit of heaven by the sea, we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacqwee20...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Bonchurch itself is magical, and with Ventnor in walking distance (20min walk) either through Bonchurch or along the promenade, made it a perfect family getaway. Strawberries is in a remote location, with beautiful walks all around. Tastefully decorated, clean, tidy, spacious and had everything we need. And it was toddler friendly. Our daugher particularly enjoyed being pushed around the courtyard over and over again, on one of the borrowed bikes from Lucy and Sean the lovely owners who live next door. And with the spectucular seaview. A truly relaxing, beautiful getaway.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
Hi Jacqui
We are really pleased the three of your enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Lucy, Sean and Sophia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa1427
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage in a wonderful setting.”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the cottage as a last minute getaway to celebrate my dads birthday, the booking process was easy. The cottage is wonderful, everything we needed for a relaxing break in a wonderful setting. So close to the Sea, just a stroll away. The accommodation is set out perfectly, feels spacious, beautifully decorated, and the beds are so comfortable. The outside area is a sun trap, lovely to sit and read. All contact with the owners was Excellent. The owner Lucy went the extra mile, made sure my dad had a lovely birthday. I have stayed on the island many times, this is definitely the cottage I would come back to & I would bring friends to stay in the adjacent cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable beds
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyand...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed forever”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. Could not have been comfier. Had everything we needed (except a freezer, which was willing sorted out by the lovely owners of the cottage.) Thank you for letting us stay here, would be back tomorrow if only we could.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing