We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene, Cozy, Comfortable and Very Responsive”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Charlton House

Delightful Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Delightful Home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Delightful Home
Modern kitchen
The outside bar
Master en-suite with Super kingsize bed.
Master Bedroom
Queensize room
Ensuite wc & wash hand basin
The beautiful Ventnor Bay
The beach and esplanade at Ventnor
The round the Island Yacht Race
Ventnor Cascade
Ventnor Haven
The Bay by night
The beach
Walks very close by
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abdulla M
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Serene, Cozy, Comfortable and Very Responsive”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

First and foremost thing I liked about this property was the responsiveness of Steve (I am not sure if I could use the names in reviews). Whatever the query was Steve would respond next minute and would need no follow with the information he would give.
Secondly, the facilities... the moment we entered, the house was warm and that was the warmest welcome you could ask for, all amenities were arranged and handy with a note found on what and where are they located, thank god it was not a huge manual it covered all key points and easy to go thru
Third, location was serene and located off road with a small passage making it on the road but enough private to be in without any disturbance
So overall, it was a very good and pleasant experience for Easter we had, we are completely satisfied. Thank you Steve!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities and Responsiveness
Liked least: Parking place was difficult for big vehicles
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Thanks for your kind words and delighted that you had a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dotti491
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big house great for familys”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 weeks at Charlton House and its a lovely place. Plenty of space for the family to spread out( 5 of us stayed) My niece is disabled and the owner (Steve) could not do enough for us, to make out stay as comfortable as possible. Weather was kind and the sun shone and we spent a lot of time out in the garden. Its was clean and tidy on our arrival and all the linens were lovely. Kitchen was well stocked with equipment plus a range cooker and large fridge freezer. All good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Master bedroom and en suite
Liked least: I like carpets in bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLGrasby
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully presented, fully equipped large villa in a private close in Bonchurch”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Villa is nestled in a private, tree lined close, above Bonchurch and a short drive or long walk to Ventnor shops and restaurants and beautiful beach. The villa was professionally cleaned and had lovely Oak floors throughout and modern, good quality bathrooms and beautiful, light bedrooms. The master bedroom with its double aspect, en-suite and balcony were particular treats.
The garden was a sun catcher and very secure and safe for our young son to play in. Our teenage daughter loved the excellent wi-fi, having Sky in her double bedroom and also the fully equipped cook's kitchen. She enjoyed baking cakes and cookies and blending milk shakes on rainy days. Recovering from a slipped disc in my back- I particularly enjoyed the massage chair which aided my recovery.
The owner Steve is particularly helpful and easy to contact and even booked and arranged our ferry for us. We would recommend staying in this villa and using it as abase to explore the wonderful Isle of Wight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and entertainment facilities in nearly every room and the space
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apples531...
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house with ample amenities”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house, with ample accommodation and equipment for all the family. A little more tired than some of the photos suggest, but very clean and an ideal base for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for everyone
Liked least: couldn't open both windows in the conservatory, missing a sink plug!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony C
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like living at home”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a marvellous week and the house was excellent, with plenty of room for us all 6 Adults and four children. and I would recommend it to any large famerly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The access and the area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent house in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first time to the Isle of Wight with a group of 9 adults and three under 3's. Charlton House was more than big enough to accommodate us all, with plenty of living space downstairs to eat play and rest. The house is well looked after and contains all amenities you could needs for your stay. The location is great, close enough to walk to the shops and a good base to see all the things the Isle of Wight has to offer.
Thanks for making our holiday memorable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJNorris
Caversham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great, spacious, modern place for a large family to stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family group of three adults and four children stayed at Charlton House for a bank holiday weekend over three nights. When we walked in we wished we had booked a week. The house is nicely decorated, with a large kitchen, separate utility room. There is a lounge, plus extra large sun room which is a great playroom, and a separate large dining room. The bedrooms are great - my daughter loved the doll's house and toys in her room, and the two boys comfortably shared a room in separate single beds. There are TVs in four of the rooms - two of which are linked. The master bedroom is enormous with an ensuite with a shower. The main bathroom has a bath, handy for washing young children. The living room has a leather couch and reclining armchairs, plus a chest of DVDs and CDs. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with cups, wine glasses etc. We would definitely come back again. This was our first trip to Isle of Wight and we went to Robin Hill Country Park - well worth a day out, kids loved toboggan run, and there are enough other attractions and beaches to keep kids amused if you're planning a week's stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing