We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pendley Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Standard Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a wedding a little while ago. It is in a strange location, and it's quite hard to get to but it's beautiful. It's a very strange manor and it doesn't really look like one. The pool is only small, the food was delicious but still quite average, the rooms were massive but a little dated.. It's expensive, it's nice but it isn't perfection.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherriecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Cherriecupcakes; Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    341
    241
    145
    58
See reviews for
218
427
26
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The drive up to the front is really pretty and set the scene for the whole stay. It's service in the old fashioned way and we loved it. The four poster bedroom was really pretty and had everything we could possibly need including a trouser press!
We had tea and scones in the Shakespeare bar, the service was lovely but the scones had a little too much bicarbonate of soda for my liking. That was the only very small thing in an otherwise brilliant stay.
I used the pool, sauna and steam room and found them all a pleasure and helped me relax even further.
We didn't have an evening meal so can't comment on that.
The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the curtains kept all the light out and ensured an undisturbed nights darkness!
The breakfast in the Oak Room was tasty and plentiful, we found the staff helpful and friendly, attentive but discreet.
What a beautiful place to stay, it didn't cost an arm and a leg and we will certainly go back. Thank you Pendley Manor Hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank artpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you artpeach for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It is encouraging to read such positive comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and found the bed to be so comfortable. Thank you also for your remarks concerning both afternoon tea ( Chef has noted your observation regarding the scones) and breakfast.
It’s good to read that you enjoyed a good relaxing break with us and that my colleagues took good care of you both.
Thank you for visiting, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband booked this for my birthday in March, it looked very pretty in the snow. The rooms are a little tired and in need of decoration, the spa was ok (ive stayed at better) however the service was outstanding, we had a fantastic evening meal in the wonderful dining room with first class attention from the staff. Breakfast was a little disappointing (buffet style and not ver hot) but agian the service was faultless

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moutrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Moutrie: Thanks for your review, your comments are appreciated. My colleagues and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday meal in our Oak restaurant and that you experienced first class service throughout your stay. I am sorry that breakfast was not as hot as it should have been and will follow that point through with my team.
I hope that you had a lovely birthday – Many Happy Returns – we look forward to welcoming you back to Pendley Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and My wife hadn't really expected very much so it was a great surprice to find a place that felt very much like Good Old English style with very friendly and sevice minded staff. Of course the it's drafty and cold, but then again it is a bit of English history that comes with the price and we enjoyed it a lot. They also had a "spa", but then again thats not very much to write home about, so don't chose this place for the spa bit. But if you want to experiance some English "old style" combined with a superb service, then I can recomend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
• Thank you Roger A for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us. It is a particular pleasure to welcome our guests from further afield. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding our “very friendly staff” who were able to provide you with “superb service” I am delighted that we were able to offer you a taste of good British hospitality and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Where to start?
Very dark reception area but a warm welcome. I did ask for a quiet room but this was ignored.
We had got a great last minute deal and we also got upgraded to a four poster room. Very large with a nice sofa. However it was cold. To say the windows were poorly insulated would be an understatement. We had to plug the gaps with towels jam pieces of paper in to stop them rattlling. It was a very windy day though.
The lighting controls was like something out of Fawlty Towers. We were laughing so much. Whoever did the electrics must have been a very bad day It was safe but you had to turn off various switches just to make the bathroom fan go off.
We went to the pool and the area was very cold and water temperature was not great. Honestly if you had more than two men in the changing room it could have been too close for comfort.
We decided not to have dinner at the hotel due to the cost but instead went to the Greyhound pub about 5 minutes drive away. Please see separate review.
Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice of fruit. We did not try the hot food but this was Buffett style.
If you can get a deal then its worth a stay. We did not use the spa treatments

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alshepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Alshepuk; Thank you for your review, on the positive side I am pleased to read that you experienced a warm welcome, were offered a complimentary upgrade and enjoyed a very good breakfast.
Equally I am sorry that you found your room to be poorly insulated and found that electrics something of a challenge ( there is a master switch which controls all the lighting and bathroom fan which automatically turns off after some minutes) your comments are much appreciated and will certainly be borne in mind as our bedroom refurbishment progresses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a fantastic weekend away at Pendley Manor for Mothers day.Hotel was amazing inside.We had a twin room with 2 very comfortable beds which the little one loved (3rs old).Had the table d hote menu which was out of this world,high standard of food at low cost.After peaceful sleep we had the buffet breakfast which had everything you wanted.Used the pool which we all enjoyed.After checking out we went to the bar for a drink before going into the restaurant for the mothers day lunch menu.What can i say about the food we received,it was mind blowing.The service from the staff was exceptional.Overall the experience of our weekend was awesome.Will recommend this place to family and friends .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
• Thank you Barry M for such a glowing review, we are thrilled to read that you and your family enjoyed a great stay with us and particularly that Mother’s Day was such a success. Your comments are appreciated by us all at Pendley Manor.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon – thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel was good value and rooms were really big. We had two double beds for three of us. Spa area very disappointing really run down and you get locked out between areas in cold, dark corridors. Breakfast amazing, lots of choice and all yummy. Good value for size of rooms but just needs a freshen up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treacle1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
treacle1611; thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Good to read that you liked your spacious bedroom and enjoyed breakfast so much. I’m sorry that your key evidently didn’t work properly in giving you access between our leisure areas, my colleagues are checking that out.
We are busy planning the next phases of our refurbishment and hope to be making further progress soon
Thanks again for your positive comments- I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and found it to be great value.
Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
20.8 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, sited in 35 acres of landscaped gardens, ideal for special occasions such as weddings, private dinners, Christmas Parties. Also suitable for outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Conference facilities suitable for 250. Hotel is now fully Wi-Fi, air-conditioned in function rooms only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing