We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Old English, at least for a Swede.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Old English, at least for a Swede.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and My wife hadn't really expected very much so it was a great surprice to find a place that felt very much like Good Old English style with very friendly and sevice minded staff. Of course the it's drafty and cold, but then again it is a bit of English history that comes with the price and we enjoyed it a lot. They also had a "spa", but then again thats not very much to write home about, so don't chose this place for the spa bit. But if you want to experiance some English "old style" combined with a superb service, then I can recomend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
• Thank you Roger A for your time in reviewing your recent stay with us. It is a particular pleasure to welcome our guests from further afield. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding our “very friendly staff” who were able to provide you with “superb service” I am delighted that we were able to offer you a taste of good British hospitality and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    366
    250
    151
    65
See reviews for
239
453
28
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Where to start?
Very dark reception area but a warm welcome. I did ask for a quiet room but this was ignored.
We had got a great last minute deal and we also got upgraded to a four poster room. Very large with a nice sofa. However it was cold. To say the windows were poorly insulated would be an understatement. We had to plug the gaps with towels jam pieces of paper in to stop them rattlling. It was a very windy day though.
The lighting controls was like something out of Fawlty Towers. We were laughing so much. Whoever did the electrics must have been a very bad day It was safe but you had to turn off various switches just to make the bathroom fan go off.
We went to the pool and the area was very cold and water temperature was not great. Honestly if you had more than two men in the changing room it could have been too close for comfort.
We decided not to have dinner at the hotel due to the cost but instead went to the Greyhound pub about 5 minutes drive away. Please see separate review.
Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice of fruit. We did not try the hot food but this was Buffett style.
If you can get a deal then its worth a stay. We did not use the spa treatments

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alshepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Alshepuk; Thank you for your review, on the positive side I am pleased to read that you experienced a warm welcome, were offered a complimentary upgrade and enjoyed a very good breakfast.
Equally I am sorry that you found your room to be poorly insulated and found that electrics something of a challenge ( there is a master switch which controls all the lighting and bathroom fan which automatically turns off after some minutes) your comments are much appreciated and will certainly be borne in mind as our bedroom refurbishment progresses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a fantastic weekend away at Pendley Manor for Mothers day.Hotel was amazing inside.We had a twin room with 2 very comfortable beds which the little one loved (3rs old).Had the table d hote menu which was out of this world,high standard of food at low cost.After peaceful sleep we had the buffet breakfast which had everything you wanted.Used the pool which we all enjoyed.After checking out we went to the bar for a drink before going into the restaurant for the mothers day lunch menu.What can i say about the food we received,it was mind blowing.The service from the staff was exceptional.Overall the experience of our weekend was awesome.Will recommend this place to family and friends .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
• Thank you Barry M for such a glowing review, we are thrilled to read that you and your family enjoyed a great stay with us and particularly that Mother’s Day was such a success. Your comments are appreciated by us all at Pendley Manor.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon – thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel was good value and rooms were really big. We had two double beds for three of us. Spa area very disappointing really run down and you get locked out between areas in cold, dark corridors. Breakfast amazing, lots of choice and all yummy. Good value for size of rooms but just needs a freshen up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treacle1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
treacle1611; thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Good to read that you liked your spacious bedroom and enjoyed breakfast so much. I’m sorry that your key evidently didn’t work properly in giving you access between our leisure areas, my colleagues are checking that out.
We are busy planning the next phases of our refurbishment and hope to be making further progress soon
Thanks again for your positive comments- I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and found it to be great value.
Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've been travelling to the area for 15 years but had never stayed here - won't be staying anywhere else in future.

Check-in; fast, efficient & friendly.
Room; spacious, clean and very comfortable. Large sofa, two armchairs, desk with chair. French balcony. Large bathroom, again, very clean. Splitting hairs but I would have liked more pressure on the shower.
Very comfortable bar and restaurant - I ate in the bar, excellent, but only used the restaurant for breakfast. Great breakfast choices!
Lovely lounge area.

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriandBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
• Thank you BriandBab, I am glad that you have found us after so many years of visiting the area and find Pendley Manor meets your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks for your positive review, your feedback is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've been on many spa days before but Pendley was amazing. The staff were really helpful, the hotel was clean and the facilities good. The spa treatments although only a small area the two therapists that were working were amazing! The lunch included on the spa day was lovely and all this for £35 for the day!!! The best bargain ever!! Highly recommend this hotel and spa!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgurney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you emgurney, it is a pleasure to read such a lovely review, Your comments are much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked an overnight special including dinner and it was great value. Location is nice, quite convenient lovely countryside and grounds.

The main building is a typical Victorian pile grand staircase and windows etc. we had booked a four poster room so I thought it would be in the original building but it was in the annexe attached. The rooms are very big but definitely looking tired- perfectly clean etc just a bit jaded and like a blast from the 80's. where the rooms were lacking the dining room was by grand and lovely linens etc. DInner was better than average but I was sort of expecting more.


We're the hotel does very well is its staff to guest ratio- lots of staff who in the main were very good,attentive and observant. Guy in the bar was a misery, he was obviously horribly overworked( we were the only people ......)

So while this is a perfectly ok hotel it needs a big injection of cash before long so it doesn't end up looking more three star than four which would be a shame as it looks like potentially a very good wedding venue. Final note- orangery was lovely but my god the furniture was heinous, like out of a nursing home and looked totally out of place.

Room Tip: Go for the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
• GeordieJulie; thanks for your review, I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel to offer great value. Thanks also for our kind comments regarding the team, though I am disappointed that our barman was evidently less than cheery though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,759 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,230 reviews
8.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
684 reviews
8.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
843 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Property: Pendley Manor Hotel
Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing