We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff - but needs a cash injection & facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and the place has certainly improved a great deal since then. Somehow, in the face of continued underinvestment in this beautiful property, the staff seem to do a super job - professional, smart, friendly & helpful - whilst around them the manor house slowly decays and fades. The kitchen also manages to do a fine job and the chef should be very proud of the food leaving the pass, easily deserving the two AA rosettes and probably could warrant a third with a more refined and varied wine list. Where Pendley Manor sadly fails is in the facilities such as the very tired spa, sauna, steam room & pool facilities. Everything is very clean and well maintained - but again, this seems to be the staff taking care IN SPITE of the lack of investmentand the whole place just feels in need of some major TLC. The rooms are the same: a grand four-poster room was huge, with fine views, and charming - yet somehow void of proper amenities, with the bathroom more like something you'd find in a very average 2-star establishment. Just.... tired.

Overall this place leaves you with very mixed feelings towards it. There's something very charming and loveable about it, and you can pick up some great bargains for weekend deals, and yet whoever owns the place desperately needs to pay it the attention that their hard-working and caring staff seem to manage to do. Hopefully one day we will see the investment and this place realise the potential to become one of the most charming, luxurious spa hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Don't book via a 'late deals' hotel website - the best rates are to be found directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GavinSutcliffe1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

GavinSutcliffe1977; Thank you for taking to review your latest visit. It is encouraging to read that we have significantly improved since your last stay some years ago. I am gratified to read your positive remarks regarding my colleague’s friendly professionalism and also your appreciation of the food. Thank you also for your observations regarding the cleanliness and general housekeeping of our Hotel.

We have, since your last visit embarked on an extensive and on-going refurbishment and hope that you approve of those areas which have been completed.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your encouraging remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay early in January. The reviews describe the hotel as tired, and yes, it is in places, but we've stayed in far worse! We had a nice room and the breakfast was great. We would have loved to use the pool but it was closed for maintenance. We did know this when we booked though. The porters were a little over keen, especially when they saw us with a pushchair. For me, I really appreciate the help but hate the rut we Brits have got stuck in thinking we have to tip someone for doing something that is their job. We have family near by so may stay again. We know we'll have a good night's sleep and a nice big breakfast! Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkiemum3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• Yorkiemum3012; Thank you for such a kind review, it is good to know that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed breakfast. Knowing the porter who met you, I do believe he genuinely wanted to help, especially if he felt that you may be struggling with a pushchair, as you say you should not feel the need to tip, neither would it have been expected, my colleague was doing his best in delivering great service to our guests.
Please do stay again when visiting your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tired,is the best way to describe this manorly pile.very large rooms and at £70 per night with breakfast,which was very good,good value,But bar prices and bar snacks are on the dear side.
the service and staff were very good,but my main course at our function wasn't,couldn't cut my
meat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

maxieLondon Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you felt your stay to be particularly good value and that you found the service very good. I am sorry to hear about your main course though. Could you let me know which function you attended please so that I can follow through on that with Chef.?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I were invited to dinner nearby and decided to stay overnight in luxury. Pendley Manor is a Victorian pile that doesn't disappoint, but it's not faultless. It's generally lovely, but it obviously needs a cash injection to get everything bang-on. The decor is quite mid-1980's in some areas, and although the pool is very good, the lighting is terrible and the cold concrete tunnel that leads to the sauna and steam room is grim. The bedroom was good despite the out-of-place pine 4-poster in a room that featured walnut and dark wood furniture. Patterned carpet, walls, curtains in a slightly old fashioned Laura Ashley-in-it's-heyday look. Everything was clean and the technology worked well. The wi-fi was free. The breakfast was terrific and the staff charming. The main function rooms are beautiful and traditional.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1958speedster356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• 1958speedster356; Thanks for you review, I am pleased to read that you thought the hotel to be lovely and found everything to be in clean with technology that works. It is also good to know that you enjoyed breakfast, appreciated our function rooms and found my colleagues charming. I am conscious of the down side and am working to have those areas updated
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, please do visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights here early in January to recharge our batteries for the new year ahead. The hotel was lovely in all respects. The setting was just outside of Tring in wooded grounds - close enough for a walk into town but far enough away to work up an appetite. The hotel building had character and was tastefully decorated. Our room was large with plenty of space, including a sofa so we didn't have to sit on the bed or scrunch up in a single chair to watch TV as in some hotels. The bed was very comfortable with quality pillows and duvet. We wandered into Tring for a pub meal on our first night but ate in on the second and enjoyed a lovely meal, quality ingredients beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and helpful - all in all we would recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• 7Scottie; Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, found your room comfortable and enjoyed dinner. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding my colleagues.
I hope you left us with batteries recharged and that we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For our 16th wedding anniversary we looked around for a nice hotel to stay in and decided on Pendley manor which was a great choice. The welcome was great, the room was enormous (albeit a little bit dated) and very clean, the breakfast was buffet style and was all piping hot and was served in a very grand dining room with high ceilings, ornate fixtures and fittings. The staff in the dining room and throughout the hotel were always on hand to help and were very friendly.
My wife and i used the gym facilities which were small but were adequate. The snooker room was a great addition to the stay also. There were peacocks walking round the grounds which was quite a sight too.
We ventured out into Tring on Friday night and Saturday night and used Johns taxis which were very prompt and reasonably priced.
The Akeman pub in Tring town centre is a great pub/restaurant and i would recommend this to anyone visiting, together with the Prezzo restaurant in Tring town centre.
A great trip overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• Benandis; Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing to celebrate at Pendley Manor. Super to read that you enjoyed our facilities, food and that the team looked after you on such an important occasion.
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had to make a last minute booking due to unforeseen family circumstances, and Pendley Manor fitted us in straight away, at a very favourable rate. The room was enormous, with a lovely view over the garden, very quiet and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was of a very high standard, served in a marvellous dining room. The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

A lovely couple of days- we might well be back again.

Room Tip: We have a room in the old part, which was very comfortable although slightly dated. We understand th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you anne a, for taking the time to review your visit. I believe you took advantage of our seasonal “visiting friends and family” promotion, which as you say was very good value. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your unscheduled stay, found your accommodation spacious and comfortable, enjoyed good food and that my colleagues were attentive in looking after you.

Thanks for your positive feedback.

I do hope that you will return for another break soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,865 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,358 reviews
8.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range: $73 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing