We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One lovely nights stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pendley Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I were invited to dinner nearby and decided to stay overnight in luxury. Pendley Manor is a Victorian pile that doesn't disappoint, but it's not faultless. It's generally lovely, but it obviously needs a cash injection to get everything bang-on. The decor is quite mid-1980's in some areas, and although the pool is very good, the lighting is terrible and the cold concrete tunnel that leads to the sauna and steam room is grim. The bedroom was good despite the out-of-place pine 4-poster in a room that featured walnut and dark wood furniture. Patterned carpet, walls, curtains in a slightly old fashioned Laura Ashley-in-it's-heyday look. Everything was clean and the technology worked well. The wi-fi was free. The breakfast was terrific and the staff charming. The main function rooms are beautiful and traditional.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1958speedster356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• 1958speedster356; Thanks for you review, I am pleased to read that you thought the hotel to be lovely and found everything to be in clean with technology that works. It is also good to know that you enjoyed breakfast, appreciated our function rooms and found my colleagues charming. I am conscious of the down side and am working to have those areas updated
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, please do visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,160 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights here early in January to recharge our batteries for the new year ahead. The hotel was lovely in all respects. The setting was just outside of Tring in wooded grounds - close enough for a walk into town but far enough away to work up an appetite. The hotel building had character and was tastefully decorated. Our room was large with plenty of space, including a sofa so we didn't have to sit on the bed or scrunch up in a single chair to watch TV as in some hotels. The bed was very comfortable with quality pillows and duvet. We wandered into Tring for a pub meal on our first night but ate in on the second and enjoyed a lovely meal, quality ingredients beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and helpful - all in all we would recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• 7Scottie; Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, found your room comfortable and enjoyed dinner. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding my colleagues.
I hope you left us with batteries recharged and that we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For our 16th wedding anniversary we looked around for a nice hotel to stay in and decided on Pendley manor which was a great choice. The welcome was great, the room was enormous (albeit a little bit dated) and very clean, the breakfast was buffet style and was all piping hot and was served in a very grand dining room with high ceilings, ornate fixtures and fittings. The staff in the dining room and throughout the hotel were always on hand to help and were very friendly.
My wife and i used the gym facilities which were small but were adequate. The snooker room was a great addition to the stay also. There were peacocks walking round the grounds which was quite a sight too.
We ventured out into Tring on Friday night and Saturday night and used Johns taxis which were very prompt and reasonably priced.
The Akeman pub in Tring town centre is a great pub/restaurant and i would recommend this to anyone visiting, together with the Prezzo restaurant in Tring town centre.
A great trip overall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

• Benandis; Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, and thank you for choosing to celebrate at Pendley Manor. Super to read that you enjoyed our facilities, food and that the team looked after you on such an important occasion.
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had to make a last minute booking due to unforeseen family circumstances, and Pendley Manor fitted us in straight away, at a very favourable rate. The room was enormous, with a lovely view over the garden, very quiet and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was of a very high standard, served in a marvellous dining room. The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

A lovely couple of days- we might well be back again.

Room Tip: We have a room in the old part, which was very comfortable although slightly dated. We understand th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you anne a, for taking the time to review your visit. I believe you took advantage of our seasonal “visiting friends and family” promotion, which as you say was very good value. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your unscheduled stay, found your accommodation spacious and comfortable, enjoyed good food and that my colleagues were attentive in looking after you.

Thanks for your positive feedback.

I do hope that you will return for another break soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This has been our 4th stay at Pendley Manor and I can safely say we have ALWAYS had a lovely experience staying here. All the staff (we have have had contact with) are so friendly, welcoming, and accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful and its wonderful seeing the peacocks roaming around, the only downside I would say, is that the rooms themselves probably need a little TLC, they are very clean and well equipped but the bathrooms need a little updating (in my opinion). The food (breakfast and dinner) is always yummy and delicious! Our children always look forward to returning to PM to explore the hotel and enjoy the pool! Thanks to all the staff and making our Christmas a memorable one. We look forward to booking our next stay at PM soon. I would always recommend PM to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Yan K; it’s a particular pleasure to welcome our returning guests. I am delighted that your fourth visit was once again enjoyable. Thank you for your kind comments and for continuing to visit us.
I hope we shall see you again during 2013.
Best wishes for a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Pendley Manor on Friday 14th December. Six rooms booked with Family & friends & a dinner party for 15 in the main restaurant. A good Christmas menu choice, seen in advance & a good variety for the children. We sampled plenty of the house Champagne & wines & with good honest service, we all had a relaxed & satisfying stay. The grounds are great for a little stroll & the Spa & pool are worth packing the 'speedos' for....Give it a try you may enjoy it too.

Room Tip: Family room on the ground floor had two double beds & plenty of room to swing the cat too. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howardrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Howardrichards; many thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit, a landmark birthday celebration I believe. I and my colleagues are thrilled that you had such a good time with us.
Thanks for both you review and allowing us to look after your family on such an important occasion.
Finally – congratulations and best wishes to the “Birthday Girl”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for a night with dinner in the restaurant.
The original parts of the building are really nice. Its a shame there isnt a proper reception area. The area at the bottom of the grand wooden staircase is crying out for some leather chesterfields or easy chairs, but is just a walkthrough for waiters and waitresses during mealtimes. Almost as if the conversion from house to hotel wasnt really thought through.
We were lucky enough to have rooms in the old part, and its certainly nice walking up the creaky wooden stairs up to your room. The rooms are a little tired (should really have flat screen TVs as standard, as the bulky TV was enourmous). The 4 poster bed had no roof to it, with a divan sat within the frame - which I found a little strange, making it feel very fake. A nice regular bed would probably have suited the room better - we overlooked the garden though which was really nice. The pool is ok, with jacuzzi. I thought there was a sauna but couldnt find it. The Spa rooms looks like an afterthought and poor - you would be very dissapointed if coming for a spa weekend. The shakespear bar is lovely and relaxing for a drink before dinner. The dining rooms feels intimate and very impressive. The food is really good quality and very well presented for evening Dinner, definately somewhere to come for a romantic meal. We walked around the hotel, but failed to find the stunning grounds. Did I miss them or maybe there should be signage. The Peacocks are a nice touch. Buffet breakfast was nice, but meandering your way between tables to get to the breakfast spread in the next room was a little awkward.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMpendley, General Manager at Pendley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

• Thank you Neil S, I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. There is of course a “proper” reception desk, just inside the entrance. I do take your point regarding the hallway, as you say a couple of comfy chairs would be nice there. Unfortunately its just not a practical proposition as the hallway is a very busy area, something of a “crossroad” linking the various rooms on the ground floor and of course the grand staircase leading to the bedrooms. Good to read that you liked the Shakespeare Bar and enjoyed our restaurant. Chef will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed dinner as well as his breakfast
I’m not sure how you managed to miss our grounds, though to be fair, probably not at their best on a dank December morning, but spring is just round the corner, so maybe we can welcome you back then
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tring
13.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,287 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,804 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
870 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
701 reviews
8.8 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendley Manor Hotel

Address: Cow Lane, Tring HP23 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tring
Price Range: $76 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pendley Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendley Manor is a Victorian Country Manor House, site in 35 acres of beautifully landscaped and wooded parkland; and is the perfect country retreat for leisure breaks, weddings and conferences. Our conference and banqueting facilities are suitable for up to 250 people, including outside catered events for up to 200 guests. Our newly refurbished rooms are offering a spacious modern style, ample natural light and in-room climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pendley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pendley Manor Tring
Hotel Pendley Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing