We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential but needs work....”
Review of Cow Roast Inn

Cow Roast Inn
Ranked #24 of 43 Restaurants in Tring
Price range: $4 - $13
Description: The Cow Roast Inn is under New Management including a very seasoned Chef who has some fantastic ideas & menus using local produce. It will take us time to settle so many thanks for your patience and we welcome all to our first Sunday roast on the 14th of December 2014 12pm to 2pm. Many Thanks George & Delcy
Restaurant details
Description: The Cow Roast Inn is under New Management including a very seasoned Chef who has some fantastic ideas & menus using local produce. It will take us time to settle so many thanks for your patience and we welcome all to our first Sunday roast on the 14th of December 2014 12pm to 2pm. Many Thanks George & Delcy
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
723 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Good potential but needs work....”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped here for an impromptu lunch during a walk on May bank holiday Monday. The welcome from the lady at the bar was very friendly, and she pointed out the specials of the day. In fact she appeared the only person on duty. We enjoyed a nice rump steak with all the trimmings, a starter (but large) portion of spare ribs, a couple of pints of Stella and a J2O all for under £20. So value wise very good indeed. Unfortunately the atmosphere was lacking as there were only 4 other people in the pub, plus a few more in the garden. The restaurant chairs wobbled, we changed them several times before we were sure ours wouldn't collapse. The toilets were apparently under refurbishment (definitely needed) but there was no loo paper in either the ladies or gents. The carpet where we were seated was filthy with sweet wrappers and what looked like snail trails all over it. In summary, very good service and food, but I couldn't recommend it to friends until it smarts itself up a bit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    5
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wouldnt go back in a hurry!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stopped off here with family. looked really nice from outside, altho, where we parked there were crisp packets and empty beer bottles on floor, as we entered we were stared at by locals at the bar, nice feel to the pub tho, so thought we would stay, loo seat in ladies not attached!! but hey ho, we were hungry, sat in restaurant side, had to brush crumbs off seats and table, the bar lady was also the waitress, we ordered our food and considering we were the only table occupied our food took quite a while to come, three of us had Thai green curry, very watery and no thai aubergenes as on menu, but loads of peppers and onions instead, very disappointed, but tasted o.k, only half of the dessert menu was available but no cream with the ones that were on offer, and no teabags for a cuppa wanted by my ol mum, all in all, lovley old pub, loads of characture but no warm welcome, place needs a good clean, maybe the bar lady was expected to serve at the bar, serve in the restaurant and be the cleaner?!? such a shame really, as garden great, for families, esp with young children, but wont be rushing back :-(

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angel1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No Sunday Roast at Cow Roast”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have visited this place several times over the years and it just seems to get worse. On the last two Sunday visits along with 3 family members we discovered that they had no Sunday roasts. One member wanted a chicken dish of the pub grub menu, they had none. A vegetable Thai Green curry was watery and lacking in an assortment of vegetables. I resorted to the all day breakfast which was ok but then there is nothing much can go wrong with a breakfast that consisted mainly of baked beans. The other two companions found fault with their food and told the waitress but she didn't seem very bothered. There was only one person serving behind the bar and at table. We sat near a window and it was very cold and draughty. The place lacked atmosphere. On the positive side the Tring Brewery beer was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnH887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's OK and it's cheap.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure what this place is trying to be. Is it a Thai restaurant or a traditional pub grub venue? I don't know. We stopped here for lunch after visiting some people in Berkhamsted and went in as we were hungry and couldn't wait much longer. The service was luke warm, no real welcome, there were four other customers (1pm) which for a Thursday seemed quiet. We were presented with both the Thai menu and the pub menu but even if this was the best Thai food out there it seemed bizarre in that setting and the plastic menu wasn't selling it at all. I went for a steak and my colleague had lasagne. The steak was OK and quite tender, the lasagne was a mess and was crusty and dry but the portions were generous.

Other stuff: the toilets were freezing cold, damp and dirty, no excuse. The whole place was a bit grotty and could have done with a thorough clean. I wouldn't go here again and wouldn't recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff and great food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Popped in for a cooked lunch today and was greeted with a very polite barmaid. The English menu offers huge traditional choices. I have previously had their Thai food too which is to a very high standard. I look forward to our next visit. Thumbs up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cow Roast Inn also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cow Roast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing