We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value ...don't believe other reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stansted Airport Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Takeley B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value ...don't believe other reviews”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I read loads of bad reviws and was very afraid of what we would find, and I can assure u it was absolutely fine,,,, 1 night in family room with breakfast
And 15 days parking £59 FANTASTIC we was given the family room which was clean tidy with a lovely bathroom nice 32 inch tv , yes the breakfast was rubbish but we got coffee and toast which is ok. We would def stay there again as its only 5 minutes from airport management very helpful too

Room Tip: Family room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paninalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    24
    18
    52
See reviews for
30
43
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The male receptionist was rude and shouted at myself and my daughter. He should be sacked !
Loud and noisy on the main road, cars pulling up next to bedroom window in the night - several times. It wasn't possible to sleep.
Breakfast was a joke. A complete and utter disaster.
The worst place in the world I have ever stayed in. We are frequent travellers, but we will definately NOT be going back here !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Takeley hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

please this place should be 10 per night . i had to stay here because i missed my flight and planned to get another flight the next morning. the decor in the lovely looking building was strange. i didnt have my own bathroom inside my room and was made to go outside and use a large bathroom. I had a three year old with me so i was not happy with that idea. The breakfast was stale bread and other things but i ate nothing.
This place must be the worst place ive stayed in ever in sure of it. I was so sorry for my son who had to sleep in the terrible bed with bouncy springs making noise when you moved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's a very basic hotel where the focus is on providing a place to sleep before an early flight from Stansted Airport. For that purpose it good value for money. The room was clean and had the necessary basics. The bed was very firm. The bathroom was a little run down, but very clean.
As said on a budget and only looking for a place to catch some sleep the hotel is good value for money. The hotel offers a shuttle service at £6 per way. At least that was the price quoted to me. A lady arriving at the same time had been quoted a slightly cheaper price. The shuttle service in from STN in the evening was a bit poorly coordinated. I ended up getting a round trip to another hotel before being taken back to the Airport and then to the hotel. Is meant that the trip to the hotel took about 40 min which was inconvenient as it was late at night. The shuttle from the hotel worked very well. It was on time and took less than 10 min to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Templar1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Clean but very basic. No hairdryer so take your own. Shower seen better days. Breakfast very basic. Check in not possible till 6pm - a bit of a nuisance. Also as they raise money for charging for cheap airport parking, when you arrive as an independent traveller who happens to have a car, you are charged £5 to park - must be a first! Also not that handy for airport. And if you phone asking about directions from airport to hotel - they don't know!!
This is the 21st century and unless prices are very low, this sort of service is no longer good enough.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go to a chain like Premier Inn - much better experience and better value for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is the best hotel I have ever seen Englan!! Big clean room with bathroom, the position is very good cause only 8 minutes by car to stansted airport.
The owner, with me, was very kind and polite; he booked for me and my girfriend the shuttle taxi at 4.30 am to go to the airport.
Another good thing was the breakfast: tost, ham, salami, cheese, orange juice, muffin, yogurt...
The only bad thing is that I didn't find the wifi but it remains, in my humble opinion, the best choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Avietor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

No one to check you in on arrival, no shuttle to the airport so had to pay a ridiculous £12 each way for a 5 minute taxi ride, rooms were sparse and very old fashioned with paper thin walls. One look at the breakfast and we decided to pay to eat elsewhere. However i could have put up with all that if in the morning i did not wake up to find that the shower still had pubic hair on the floor from the last guest and the water turned from warm (not hot) to cold when other guests used their facilities. I strongly recommend you look elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ula86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,021 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
530 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stansted Airport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stansted Airport Lodge

Property: Stansted Airport Lodge
Address: Takeley Street, Takeley CM22 6QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stansted Airport Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Stansted Airport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stansted Airport Lodge Takeley, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing