We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White House
Ranked #4 of 15 Takeley B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay whether you are looking for pre or post flight accommodation or just for a weekend get away. my charming hosts could not do enough for me and my room was very comfortable and stylish. I will be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pm5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed overnight at the White House as it is a 10 minute cab ride to Stansted. The B & B is very comfortable and clean and the Breakfast was excellent. The couple that run the White House also run a pub which did a good evening meal just down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed one night along with some friends to attend a friend's 40th Birthday party nearby. The hotel is very close to Standsted airport, but you aren't disturbed by aircraft noise at all.

The house is set in a lovely big garden setting which our children enjoyed running around in! It is handy to the M11 and for local pubs and takeaways.

The hosts are very welcoming and trustworthy to open up their house to you. We had all 3 rooms upstairs, which all had their own bathroom and lovely huge comfy beds!

A very nice breakfast with fresh fruit platter, yogurts, cereals and fry up!

Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here overnight, the accomodation was spotless, modern, the bed and soft furnishings sumptuous and the owers very helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was a real treat and the fresh fruit platter excellent. As previous guests also found there was very little noise despite being so close to the airport. We arrived late after a delayed flight and Mike stayed up to great us and show us our room, which was delightful and the listed cottage did not disappoint. I will return to stay here again and again if passing through Stanstead and am tempted to book a getaway weekend, just for the pleasure of staying in this delightful guesthouse. We would also recommend lunch in the Lion and Lamb down the road, if you can manage the huge portions of delicious traditional food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerri0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We have just returned from our stay at The White House which is ideally located near Stansted airport but you would never know as it was peacefully quiet. The rooms are light, airy, immaculately clean with sumptiously comfortable beds. Powerful showers and what appears to be underfloor heating in the bathroom! We had a wondeful stay, although far too short and enjoyed a magnificient English breakfast, fresh fruit platters and delicious fresh coffee. We could not have asked for any more. Thank you

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mama1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed here for our friends 50th birthday who lives in takeley.
Lovely old Beamed Cottage in lovely surroundings, very welcoming owner.
Lovely Room, fantastic power shower, lovely Breakfast especially the fresh fruit, Lovely cooked breakfast, Was great value worth a visit, very close to Stansted Airport but could not hear the planes.
Thanks for for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORRISCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kun tre rom på pensjonatet. Vil ikke anbefale noen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Egil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takeley
1.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
1.3 mi away
The Willows Guest House
The Willows Guest House
#3 of 15 in Takeley
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Green Man Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Little Bullocks Farm
Little Bullocks Farm
#1 of 15 in Takeley
119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stansted Guest House
Stansted Guest House
#11 of 15 in Takeley
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taphall Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: The White House Smiths Green | Dunmow Road, Takeley CM22 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Takeley
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Takeley
Price Range: $93 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a delightful 15th Century Grade II listed manor house set in one acre of attractive gardens providing a relaxing atmosphere for all. Having been awarded 4 Yellow Stars by the AA for its outstanding facilities and service and the prestigious Enjoy England Silver Award, The White House is also highly recommended by the English Tourist Board. Having been refurbished by Mike and Linda, The White House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Takeley, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing