We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place, Ideal for large Parties, Well...”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
69 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paul C
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place, Ideal for large Parties, Well catered for”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here for two nights to celebrate New Years. In total there was 23 of us, this included children. Rose Bank was perfect for our needs. Such a large house with enough bedrooms for everyone. The children loved playing hide and seek around the house which was great as it kept them amused. Outside was vast and private so they could all play games.
There was a large drawing room with a lovely great big fire and a dining room which seated all 12 adults comfortably, with room for more if required. We took along food and wasn’t sure before hand what would be there. But the kitchen was well stocked with the basics for cooking and tea/coffee etc.
The owners had made us a lovely fresh cream cake for our arrival, which was delicious. They were great, on site if we needed them but left us to enjoy our stay with no hassle. We will definitely be coming back again, ideally during the summer to take advantage of the lovely swimming pool.
This is a great house, ideal for large parties and great value. Highly recommend Rose Bank to anybody thinking of staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house
Liked least: Was a bit cold to start with before we got the fire going, due to the size of the property
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julez10
Buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for big groups”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a fantastic weekend with a large group of friends and children and this house was just perfect. Sitting around the fire in the evening was lovely and the kids enjoyed playing hide and seek in this vast home. We opted to have the owners make dinner on Saturday night and it was superb. A brilliant weekend in a house full of character, we would definitely come here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the house and homely feel
Liked least: A little chilly on arrival
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Range of rooms
Liked least: Difficult to heat up some rooms
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert T
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous period property in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was booked to celebrate my Mother-in Law's 80th birthday and family travelled from all parts of the UK to be present..
What a fabulous house...loads of period features...roaring log fire and just perfect for adults,kids,babies and a dog!
Well appointed and ideal for exploring the surrounding area...not to mention a wonderful backdrop for our Murder,Mystery theme....what an evil woman Ginger turned out to be!!
Would not hesitate to recommend Rose bank to friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the place!
Liked least: No issues!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 generations of family plus dog absorbed effortlessly.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

This is a lovely homely property, comfortable and well-used. Lots of nooks and crannies for different groups to use, e.g. sports watchers in one room, school-book markers in another, readers and dozers in front of the fire, free range children and dog.

Plenty of space in the dining room for the 80th birthday party for 18. Kitchen with loads of pots and pans for self-catering. Cozy despite being a frozen December weekend, with an unlimited supply of logs and fires. The bedrooms and bathrooms are enormous and full of character. Abundant supply of books and games for those who didn't want to brave the country walks. The pool looked lovely but, being December, we weren't hardy enough to book it.

Our advance party were met on arrival by the owners, a pot of tea and a pile of delicious scones with jam and cream. Bliss after a 4 hour drive. Really relaxing break, sorry we couldn't stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious unconventional house where we didn't feel on top of each other. 18 people, no queue for the bathroom, ever!
Liked least: Long drive from Merseyside but what can you do about that?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow-girl...
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Being a Londoner I always try and find not only beautiful but also interesting places to go to escape! This did not disappoint. The house is imposing and elegant and certainly left me with a sense of awe and is located close to Hereford. The owners were very welcoming and on hand but generally left us to do our own thing which was fab.There is some lovely pubs and walks in the local area, the countryside is beautiful!!
We did not book the pool, which I regret!!!! the courtyard garden it's set in was great and would have been perfect for the kids to play.
The house is huge and full of amazing character. I loved it!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing