We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst B&B Ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Little Hallingbury Mill
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The pictures on the internet were very misleading! We expected a quaint, friendly, nice, NORMAL B&B!! Current owners very rude and did nothing to make stay pleasurable! Rooms scruffy, but linen clean. When asked what was for breakfast told "it would all be on a plate, leave what you don't want". Within seconds of arriving told would be fined if found smoking in room .. there s a way to say things! Would be very surprised if any guests returned or stayed more than one night. SHAME as could be lovely B&B!!!!!!!!
(Also re the location : sitting by the water, the sewage smells are not pleasant!! )

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentMoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilEssex, New Owner at Little Hallingbury Mill, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2008

Boy have I got my work cut out.

Thanks very much for the honesty of this review and others on this list it is very helpful to know what we have been getting wrong.

I have just bought Little Hallingbury Mill. It is a fabulous place, but needs work on both the building, and the service front. The work has started in quite a big way and I hope that if there is a next time for you it will be a much much better experience. I won't be happy unless it is an experience we can be proud of.

Thanks again.

Derek

Derek Rocholl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2007

Booked several rooms - bookings were lost, or rooms changed from doubles to singles (no apologies given to us for any of these problems).
Rooms were tiny, with slapdash decor, cheap furniture, crumbs in drawers and nowhere to hang clothes.

Can't fault the location which is gorgeous. This could be one of the best B & Bs in the country, with just a little effort. Such a shame that the effort isn't being made.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topcat_Lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

The rooms in this hotel are clean, but extremely basic, dated and cramped. However, the service we encountered and the way management spoke to us was without a doubt the rudest and most diabolical customer service we have ever experienced.

3  Thank Spittsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

The room was very small and cheap looking and some very basic furniture smelt of damp. The bathroom was incredibly small, the floor had damp patches on it and the shower looked as though it had seen it's last days. The hosts were very strange people. The breakfast was OK but small portions - you had to have cooked breakfast OR cereal - and dare not ask for both!The website photos are misleading and overall we were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AbelTrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

The Little Hallingbury Mill is a picturesque little b&b not too far from Stansted airport. There is not a lot to see or do around the hotel, but it is a nice spot to relax for a day on your way out of the airport.

The restaurant is quite nice, as is the pub (both in the main building). The rooms are decent sized and reasonably-appointed, although the bed in our room (in the side building) was not very well padded. The staff was helpful, friendly and accomodating.

I would recommend this for anyone looking for a reasonably-priced hotel for a night on their way out of Stansted.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Counterweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

Stayed in room 25, which has a very small and cheap double bed (which you can feel the springs through), and some very basic furniture. The bathroom, again was incredibly small - and only one person at a time can fit in there. However its perfectly clean and tidy.

Very friendly hosts - but the website photos are misleading (they keep those rooms for best I imagine).

If they spent some time and thought into making the accomodation more modern or better in finishing quality, they would have a lovely place.

Unfortunately its very ordinary and doesn't do itself justice.
An unpolished diamond which really needs to be scrubbed a little.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englaender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

The pictures on the interet site seemed quite misleading. The room was small and the shower room tiny. The owner was very friendly, however the quality of the accomodation was truly reflected in the price. Even for a one night stay although convenient for the airport, I would not stay here again. After looking at the website, I was very dispointed overall.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank siberius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Hallingbury
2.9 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
657 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
303 reviews
17.5 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
741 reviews
15.8 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hallingbury Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hallingbury Mill

Address: Gaston Green, Little Hallingbury CM22 7QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Little Hallingbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Hallingbury
Price Range: $76 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hallingbury Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Hallingbury Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Hallingbury Mill Hotel Little Hallingbury
Hotel Little Hallingbury
Mill Hotel Little Hallingbury
Little Hallingbury Mill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing