We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the old side of the building. It was lovely and quaint. The staff were excellent and very accommodating. The bedroom was small but very adequate with a nice sized ensuite. The restaurant was quite busy at the weekend but very quiet during the week and we were given very good service. Huge breakfast buffet and a beautifully presented evening meal.

Room Tip: I really liked the old part of the hotel but it had lots of little steps up and down and therefore n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Fiona M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent visit to the Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we are very much looking forward to having the oppurtunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

When booking I explained that I would be in a wheelchair and was assured that the venue was disabled friendly. I rang again the day before and re iterated the wheelchair situation.
On arrival at Reception there is a huge stone step down to get in. No ramp and no member of staff offering help. My husband negotiated the way into the Great Hall. Good afternoon tea but staff had to be found to ask for more tea.
On leaving I asked at Reception where the disabled loo was located. I was informed it was along the corridor and down the step (no ramp) oh and by the way workmen were fixing it so it was unavailable. I could use the facilities in the bar but these did not have disabled access.
Come on Letchworth Hall. In this day and age I am appalled that basic facilities were denied me simply because I cannot walk. My fellow guests did not have to go home cross legged. This really took the edge off a lovely afternoon. Please be more aware of everyone's needs not just those lucky people who can walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.

I will discuss your comments with the team and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stay at this hotel on a regular basis. Hotel staff are very good. Breakfast and room service good standard. Nice country location near A1M. We stayed in the old part of the hotel in room 88 unfortunately the hotel kitchen staff have rooms above so it is very noisy with creaking floorboards late at night and early morning. Very good pub called THE FOX nearby and has Michelin rating and superb food and real ales. The Hotel needs to tidy up its gardens,grass lawns are kept tidy.
Best hotel in the Hitchin and Letchworth area.

Room Tip: Stay in newer part of hotel. Old part nice but noisy due to staff living on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Penderowen

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent visit to the Letchworth Hall Hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us and I will be sharing your thoughts with the team.

I do hope that myself and the team have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Letchworth Hall in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is within easy reach of the a1 and has lots of nice lounges in which to hold meetings. Plenty of friendly, attentive staff on hand and food and drink well priced. Ample care parking and nice gardens.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank mavis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mavis

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to the Letchworth Hall Hotel. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights as we were attending a family gathering in Letchworth. Reception staff very friendly, a special mention to Kevin who provided a very positive first impression and.Offered help with our cases (a rarity these days). Our room was on the first floor and had been recently refurbished. It was large, comfortable with seating area, and was very clean.We had booked bed and breakfast and evening meal and booked directly with the hotel at a very reasonable rate. Dinner was very good and dining staff very attentive. We didn't use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on them. Overall a very enjoyable stay and when visiting Letchworth in the future have every intention of staying at Letchworth Hall.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank rebsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay at Letchworth Hall Hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we are able to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Poligonale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed two nights on business. The room and bed were comfortable, and the hotel is quiet, so I slept well.The hotel is clean and recently decorated.
The breakfasts are OK, with a fairly standard British breakfast buffet, and a choice of kippers, smoked haddock, etc.
The bar meals seemed expensive and not particularly well cooked. I had fish and chips, and the fish was overlooked, the chips too fat and not crispy. A bit disappointing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ashburtonfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.

I will discuss your comments with the team and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

regards,

Jose Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
381 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St. Albans
2,413 reviews
21.9 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,755 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hitchin Priory
Hitchin Priory
#8 of 8 in Hitchin
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range: $88 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing