We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for Luton Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Handy for Luton Airport”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is around 25 minutes from the airport and proved to be the ideal overnight stop over for a flight from Luton airport. The Hotel itself is a mix of old and new, the original building is full of character and the modern rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. Both the evening meal and breakfast were good and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The "continental" breakfast buffet was plentiful and the cooked breakfast was very good and made to order. I would certainly consider this hotel in future if I have to fly from Luton again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your review and I hope that you had a good trip. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcoming your back to Letchworth Hall very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    408
    219
    111
    49
See reviews for
169
602
30
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of coach trip. Room was very clean and comfortable, evening meal and breakfast was good. Stayed in a room near a wedding party so was a little concerned about noise at night but no problem with it. I would use this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayfer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jayfer

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review following your recent visit to the Letchworth Hall Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The old-world section of the hotel (a former stately home) is very attractive and nicely decorated. Rooms are in a new wing with all modern amenities. As the hotel is only two floors, you could get a room a long walk away from Reception/the Restaurant but there is access to the car park from more than one door so it is not totally inconvenient.

Our family (parents and two young teenagers) had booked two rooms. Since they could not give us interconnecting rooms, we had requested, and were assured we would get, adjacent rooms. When we checked in, we were given consecutive room numbers - turned out they were opposite each other!

The rooms are well furnished with individual airconditioning units, flat screen TVs and goose neck reading lights by the bed and by the desk. The bathroom mirrors have lights within them - though these were not working in either room. I called Reception to ask how to switch them on and was told to wave my hand in front of the mirror. Tried this with no success. Only real complaint is that the rooms have poor sound insulation (particularly doors are very thin) so you are likely to be disturbed if someone walks past late at night or early in the morning, even if they are not speaking very loudly.

The swimming pool and gym are in a separate building and used mostly by non-residents. They do not allow children, including teenagers, in the pool, except between 11.30 am and 1 pm. Bit fiddly having to take your towel with you - and then disappointing to find that all 'members' of the health club are given one there.

Breakfast was a full English and good value if you book early enough to get one of the £90 per room per night including breakfast offers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are subject to late night noise from arrivals. Some rooms are very far fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilettante7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Dilettante 7

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripavisor following your recent visit to the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that yourself and your family enjoyed the time that you spent with us. However I am diappointed that some aspects of your stay were to your satisfcation and I will be passing your comments on to the relevant Heads of Department so that they can ensure that similar situations do not re-occur.

With regards to the swimming pool, this facility is franchised out by a seperate company and therefore the operating times and policies are not set by the hotel. I will however pass your comments onto the Management Team in there with the hope that they may review some of their timinigs.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we can have the pleasure in welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Gorgeous hotel, great decor, well appointed room, fantastic food, let down by poor customer service. Our ordered papers werent delivered on Sunday morning and the staff couldnt care less, there were no tables available to residents on the Saturday night as they were all booked by externals, breakfast was chaotic, the wrong meals were brought out to us. Such a pity as it had real potential.

Room Tip: The rooms have no drawers so plan accordingly. The bar is very expensive (£5.50 for a Cidre) so pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kanga

Thank you for your very candid review following your recent stay here at the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences caused to your during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback as it enables us to grow and to improve in our service offering. Please be assured that this is not the normal level of service that we aim to provide and we will be using your review as a training tool for all of our staff.

Once again thank you for your review and our apologies for this matter as a whole. We do hope that it does not deter you from staying with us again and we look forward in welcoming your back to Letchworth Hall in the very near future.

Kind Reagrds

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

1st impressions were great, those little extras just made it so special.
Beware of the grumpy man in the restaurant at breakfast. No customer focus at all, actually very ignorant & rude. Don't think he can cope under pressure.

Apart from that, lovely food & great rooms. Would return to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenP295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Karen

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to being able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We originally booked with a sister hotel in Hertford, but as they had had a flood, we were offered this hotel instead
On arrival there was a complementary bottle of prosecco for our trouble
The room was good size with large flat screen tv and large modern bathroom, unfortunately when I went to take a shower there was no hot water
I was offered the use of a spare room for a shower
Our 3 course dinner was excellent as was the service
The breakfast was of the same quality
On check out we were given a £30 refund for our inconvenience with the shower
A first class hotel with first class service

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear David E

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your recent visit to the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I am pleased to see that the team were able to rectify your problem with the shower to your satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Letchworth Hall again soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
221 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great two night break at this 4 star, newly refurbished hotel (not quite complete yet, but look like they are almost done). We were given a stylish double room, with desk and chair, really fast wi-fi, big flat screen tv, coffee table and two armchairs,air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities( with large kettle and mugs). Bathroom is also stylish with a double size shower. This is great either for a relaxing break or for business. Ours is the former, so we headed for the spa attached - free use when you're resident here. Lots of procedures are on offer (massages, facials, pedicures etc) or a snazzy looking very well equipped gym. We opted for the large pool, sauna and steam room. All looked to be new or very well cared for. The cafe was comfortable and welcoming with complimentary Sunday newspapers after the (relatively) strenuous activity of testing out the facilities. Bar meals were a bit pricey but were good quality. Breakfasts were 10 out of 10 for taste and variety. Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park and the window wouldn't open (No 64), but everything else on of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercLetch, Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Gappy UK

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent ddeparture from the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us & I do hope that myself & the team have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lisa Kearney
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
21.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Property: Mercure Letchworth Hall
Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing