We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The all round service especially in the restaurants made the whole weekend so enjoyable .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The all round service especially in the restaurants made the whole weekend so enjoyable .”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Ten ladies spent a weekend together here and everyone of us agreed that all the staff , the service , the venue and location made it a very memorable stay . The staff serving at lyttons in the hotel restaurant were three of the most polite and good humoured I have encountered for a long time .we would all stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback - I am very happy to read that all you ladies enjoyed your week-end with us and we hope to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    417
    221
    115
    53
See reviews for
175
616
30
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a function at the hotel. I was staying in one of the modern rooms which was very spacious and worth paying a premium for. Also extremely clean and tidy with an good standard of decor (also, noting some of the earlier reviews, there was a towel rack in the bathroom!). Although I didn't have breakfast at the hotel, other meals in the restaurant were fantastic (hot, prompt food despite there being a few of us!). The staff were very helpful, polite and approachable throughout. My only gripe would be the cost of extras like room service and breakfast but I don't think this differs massively from other equivalent establishments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You mentioned the extra charges which can be bothersome, however I would like to point out that we also offer some other products and services for free (wi-fi, health center with swimming pool, etc...). We hope to welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went to Letchworth Hall Hotel with my Girlfriend Karen,

I found a deal on Mighty Deals, we travelled up from Kent & arrived & booked in shown our Room, which was very nice!! a giant double bed!

The hotel was busy due to the Xmas period ,but did not detract from the service etc. We went to the Bar for a light lunch meal & had a hot Mulled wine which was very nice.

We had booked dinner for 7pm so we went to the dinning Rm Starter : we both had a potted 'Hock Terrine' with toast it was full of flavour.

Mains : We both went for Roast Lamb which was so exquisite the slices of Lamb were so tender, so glad we pick it
Pud : We enjoyed a Cream Brulle ,as we did not have much room left after the wonderful Lamb!!

We also had a complimentary Bottle of South African wine too

Breakfast : This was a serve yourself 'Full English Breakfast' very good with Cereal, toast fruit juices etc Tea Coffee the works!!!

Overall I had an excellent time the weekend stay over was real value for monet at 5 * service well done to the ''Letchworth Hall Hotel' !!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us last December and we hope to see you again this year!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked afternoon tea at Letchworth Hall on a Sunday. Booked online in the morning. Telephoned on the way to say we would be late, as we had to pick up the rest of the party and got delayed on the way. The hotel itself is situated off the main road in a rather residential part of Letchwork. The hotel I was told by a member of staff used to be a manor and was still being used as habitation until the 1920s. The location is tranquil and peaceful.

We were directed to the tea room which was already full of people enjoying their afternoon tea. It all looked very promising, until we discovered that the staff were not expecting us. Online booking is not enough, we should have phoned to confirm the reservation.

After a bit of huffing and puffing and resevation checking, we were seated in a different room, where the bar is located and a table was set for us. Selection of teas, the sandwiches were just that sandwiches, scones clotted cream and jam and a slice of fruit cake and biscuits.

After about 20 minutes a member of staff came to check on us. We were then left to our own devices, we asked for a refill of tea which we got. We did not ask for a refill of milk, simply because we did not want to get up everytime to ask for something. Ate our fill and left.

The experience was poor, the food average, some of it came out of a pack. The tea was good, would have been better if my third cup could have had a dash of milk. Overall time spent in a beautiful house with nice company and poor service.

But we have learnt our lesson, always, always telephone after booking online!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em_Nutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I have read your comments with interest and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. There should be no need to call after you book online and this is definitely not the kind of service standards we promote in this hotel, whatever the circumstances. I have already forwarded your feedback to the relevant people so lessons can be learned and action taken to rectify this. I hope you will visit us again and if you want to do so, please let me know directly,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

All staff are very polite friendly
Excellent quick service
Rooms very clean
Food in restaurant very nice and good sized portions
Zoo model Sophie at reception excellent and very friendly
Oh my god shut up

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigwill37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future (Sophie has just read your comment... Guess what she said? OMG...),
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here at the weekend and were really happy to have found such a great place to stay. Very beautiful grounds, building and surrounds. Lots of car parking spaces. Friendly receptionists and bar staff. No lift so carried case up a wide and not too high staircase. Clean, unworn carpets everywhere. Not a huge room but very clean and newly well furnished. Lovely large bathroom and amazing shower attachment which actually stayed on the fittings when you turned on the free flowing hot water. Really comfy bed & pillows too. Wonderful country and golf course views from the windows. We were out in the evening and were pleased to come back to a lovely cosy fire in the lounge. The weather was so cold outside. Didn't have to vacate our room til midday and as we didn't have breakfast we could have a lie-in. Perfect. Would definitely go back to this lovely unpretentious comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liley44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments, I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your week-end with us and we hope we will be able to welcome you again soon,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed as a party of four attending a family wedding. The hotel is well set up for functions such as this with a large extension incorporating function rooms and bedrooms. We stayed in the old original "Hall" part of the hotel.

Our room was great with high ceilings and well furnished. TV and shower worked so 100% what you need for an overnighter. Unfortunately our sons' room allow well fitted was tiny. It looked like a converted cupboard with hardly any space between the twin beds. Best to check rooms before settling in for the night!

Other guests stayed in the modern part and all said their rooms were fine.
Breakfast (included) was excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the room as they vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that in the original part of the hotel (dating from the 17th century, it is a grade listed building), some rooms can be quite quirky and vary in size but we are always happy to accomodate requests and changes when possible.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
216 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
2.5 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Property: Mercure Letchworth Hall
Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing