We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel with excellent food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very impressed by Letchworth Hall Hotel. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful at Reception and in the restaurant. They coped really well with my dietary needs and gave me the best gluten-free rolls I have ever eaten. The food at dinner was beautifully presented, the quality was very good and the combination of flavours was lovely. Public rooms are well designed in keeping with the age of the main building. Our bedroom was of high quality, clean, quiet and comfortable with a lovely shower. This is a country house hotel just as it should be. I can recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of all the staff would like to thank you for your kind words; we hope to see you again soon,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    417
    221
    115
    53
See reviews for
175
616
30
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've stayed at The Letchworth Hall Hotel twice but ate there a number of times both evening and high tea.
Every time we had wonderful food and fantastic service.
The food that we had was as good as a restaurant in Madeira which has a Michelin Star.
Angela Potts
Ware

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Angela,
Thank you very much for your kind words, I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stays and past visits with us and we are looking to welcoming you again in the future,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was one of the best hotel we have stayed in the hotel is beautifully loving restored with old and new working brilliantly side by side the staff were excellent friendly professional could not do enough for their guest our room was large beautifully decorated clean the restaurant was excellent the meals were better than any top restaurant and we have visited many all over the world the bar was relaxing the hall was breathtaking with it's large fireplaces and log fire my son who 15yrs said the gym was state of the art the large swimming pool was relaxing kept in beautiful condition the grounds were beautiful we can't wait to come again. Many Thanks to all the staff for making this such a wonderful experience for me and my family the kindest Regards The McIntosh family

Room Tip: the family room excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of all the staff, I can only thank you for your very kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent a night at this hotel on a Groupon deal. Not sure if this was the reason why, but the room we were given, Number 2, was possibly the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Bar was OK but prices even more expensive than London - £7.20 1 beer & 1 coke!! Food in the Lyttons restaurant was nice, (we sat down at 8 o'clock) but 2 of the starters were off the list and no fish courses at all on the main menu as they had sold out. Had to choose outside of the fixed menu for a main meal which cost £8 extra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback. I agree that the room you mentioned is not our biggest but it is also in a grade listed part of the building dating back from the 16th century, not too far from our restaurant and bar. Also, we will always do our best to accomodate requests (beforehand) and changes (if the room is not satisfactory for any reason).
I can only apologise for the items that you could not order from the menu, it is all about fresh and when possible local ingredients, so shortages do happen unfortunately.
I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and if you do, please let me know personally,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent a night at this hotel on a Groupon deal which was excellent value for money. The check in staff were very pleasant and our room clean and modern with all the expected amenities of a good hotel. My husband has walking difficulties and we had requested a ground floor room. We were not disappointed and our room was very close to the restaurant. Our evening meal was well presented and was delicious from start to finish and all the staff were friendly and attentive. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. We would definitely return to Letchworth Hall, all in all a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel was spotlessly clean, staff very polite and friendly, room was lovely. Had a very enjoyable relaxed stay. .
Bar had a great ambiance and there was a drink offer on so didn't spend much at all!! The fire place was absolutely beautiful as was the surrounding grounds.
Room service couldn't be faulted.Had a small problem with the bath plug. Called room service and it was replaced within 1 minute!!Will defiantly be coming back. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: stayed in room 32. overlooked car park but didn't matter as there was a really nice view of a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words, I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Recently stayed for a wedding - lovely lovely room but spoiled by prices on drinks. I understand its a hotel that needs to make money but soft drink prices were astronomical and well beyond what should be acceptable. Staff and hotel were great but if your going to an event then take your own drinks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am happy to read that you had a good time with us and can only apologise if you found the drinks prices too high. I do believe however that we are competitively priced for our property category and for the service we provide. I hope you will consider staying with us again and if you do, please contact me directly,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
216 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
2.5 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse at Redcoats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Property: Mercure Letchworth Hall
Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing