We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in everyway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in everyway!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel was spotlessly clean, staff very polite and friendly, room was lovely. Had a very enjoyable relaxed stay. .
Bar had a great ambiance and there was a drink offer on so didn't spend much at all!! The fire place was absolutely beautiful as was the surrounding grounds.
Room service couldn't be faulted.Had a small problem with the bath plug. Called room service and it was replaced within 1 minute!!Will defiantly be coming back. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: stayed in room 32. overlooked car park but didn't matter as there was a really nice view of a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words, I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    394
    215
    108
    49
See reviews for
164
588
29
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Recently stayed for a wedding - lovely lovely room but spoiled by prices on drinks. I understand its a hotel that needs to make money but soft drink prices were astronomical and well beyond what should be acceptable. Staff and hotel were great but if your going to an event then take your own drinks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am happy to read that you had a good time with us and can only apologise if you found the drinks prices too high. I do believe however that we are competitively priced for our property category and for the service we provide. I hope you will consider staying with us again and if you do, please contact me directly,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I have just spent another night at this great hotel. Room 36 is clean comfortable and cosy. The staff were yet again attentive polite and friendly. We stayed on a deal from Mighty deals and the best thing I can say is we cant wait to spend another relaxing night or two at this hotel. The leisure facilities were excellent. Meal was great, breakfast was great and all fresh, well done to all staff at Letchworth!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 36 twice, our friends stayed in 34 both rooms were of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your vote of confidence! We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked with family for weekend. Wonderful service, amabience and setting. Elegant rooms, comfy and spacious. We had a lovely double aspect room, looking over grounds.
Restaurant a must.....perfect fine dining. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Nothing too much bother. We look forward to a second trip in the near future..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to come back - we are looking forward to welcoming again soon!
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I got a package for 1 night stay with 3 course meal with wine and breakfast for my husband and myself. The room is clean and stand with its 4 star rating. Our experience started with a nice walk around the property and a visit in the gym with the pool. It's great that if you stay in the hotel, you can use the gym / pool amenities. Then we got ready for the dinner. Our compliments to the chef and the servers - as we had excellent food and pleasant service. My husband (who set very high standards with dining out) was all amazed and high praises. Then off we went to the great hall which has a very cozy atmosphere. Our morning was again with a great pleasure. We started it with a sumptuous breakfast. The service from the whole team has been excellent. Food was great with huge selection. Thumbs up and we'll go back again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank graceeli_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed yourstay with us and we hope to see you again soon,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

had a one night stay over Christmas for the family. Lovely big panelled dining hall, and handy leisure centre next door. had a Groupon voucher which was an excellent deal for the 3 of us. Was given a family room, but on arrival found out it was above a wedding party/disco in the hall later that night. Anxious about a noisy night and lack of sleep ahead, we were very kindly and efficiently moved to a better quieter room. it was fantastic, and the Bridal Suite. A wonderful gesture, made our stay 5 star and we will definately come again.
Dining - wine list was good, prices fair for a big hotel. Set menu was a good choice but average quality. Service was terrible and could be improved considerably - 3 girls standing and chatting instead of taking our orders, especially with a child to feed at night, is irritating.Waiting again to have plates cleared, bill to be checked aded to annoyance. 1 star for this side of the hotel. Lovely stay, might eat elsewhere!
5 stars and Xmas bonus to girl on Reception. Overall 4 stars

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie62Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for your honest feedback - I shall forward your comments to all concerned (the good and the bad). In the meantime, we hope you will consider staying with us again!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked this hotel on a groupon deal and it was good for the price paid. We arrived early and they gave us some towels so we could use the swimming pool and steam room, which was a great facility. We had lunch in the bar, a little pricey and I had to ask for another coffee as the first one tasted mouldy (think the bar machine needed cleaning through). The lady was more than happy to replace with a new one which was fine. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant included in our stay. The room was ok, but up in the eves of the building. The bed as soon as we sat on it was very noisy and squeeked at every movement, when we went to sleep at night it was awful and all four pillows were like concrete and we both woke up with headache. Our room was also near what I can only guess was the boiler house and it ran all night and disrupted our sleep also. Breakfast the next morning was ok, but the poor lady was on her own and rushed off her feet, more staff needed at this busy time. If I was to stay again I would try the bed and pillows first (or take my own pillows) and asked to be moved if it was not satisfactory. I would stay again on a deal but not at the full price.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 72
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyMurdock, General Manager at Mercure Letchworth Hall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall but I can only apologise for the poor quality of your night sleep. Different people have different tastes so I would always advise to check the room for comfort and request changes as soon as possible (different pillow, different room, etc...), as we will always do our best to accomodate those requests.
I hope you will consider staying with us again, if so please contact me directly,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letchworth
2.6 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#2 of 3 in Letchworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
21.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
2.7 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Letchworth Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Letchworth Hall

Property: Mercure Letchworth Hall
Address: Letchworth Lane | Letchworth Garden City, Letchworth SG6 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Letchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Letchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Letchworth Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished & Relaunched in Nov 09 Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is a true 4 star hotel. Dating back to 1625 this quintessential Olde English Manor house retains many of its Jacobean features which have been tastefully restored. The Hotel is set in 8 acres of gardens including a developing meadow which attracts Mont Jaq Deer and Letchworth's Black Squirrels. Letchworth Hall is ideally located for exploring the picturesque market towns of Hitchin and Baldock & the larger towns of Luton and Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Letchworth Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel Letchworth
Letchworth Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing