We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday dinner”
Review of Lytton's

Lytton's
Reserve with OpenTable
Lytton's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Letchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant of the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel, which has its own tripAdvisor page for review: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g503876-d248884-Reviews-Mercure_Letchworth_Hall-Letchworth_Hertfordshire_England.html
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“birthday dinner”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I took my family (which was 6 people) for a birthday meal and what a treat it was. We had drinks in the bar first, which was a lovely welcoming room with a large fire burning, smashing on a cold winters night. The drinks were expensive. (guess thats the price you have to pay for the surroundings).There were two dining rooms. We were then shown into the conservatory room for our meal which was very bright and warm on a very cold february night. Throughout our meal the waiters and waitress were very pleasant and attentive, we all chose something different from the menu and all went for the 3 course option which was £30-00 per head and have to say we could not fault the food in anyway. So for an overall dining experience l can really recommend this restauraunt.

So for an overall special occasion l can certainlyrecommend this resteraunt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank histdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    79
    33
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely deal in romantic dining room”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were very impressed by Lyttons.. Staff were friendly and attentive. Wonderful combination of flavours and high quality produce is used.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Forget It!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friends and I occasionally treat ourselves and book a highly self indulgent Afternoon Tea, we have sampled this at various venues in the area but had not visited The Letchworth Hall Hotel previously due to the cost involved. Having been treated to a delicious and beautifully presented lunch in the past, a current 2 for 1 deal being offered at a very affordable £16:95 for two people was too tempting to ignore. Our party were very disappointed with the unimaginative and colorless presentation and standard of the cakes. Clearly they had baked multiple batches of carrot cake, walnut cake, lemon drizzle, fruit cake, cut into untidy small squares. A traditional fruit scone with cream and jam and the finger sandwiches were also served. Where were the purple macaroons delicate and fancy cupcakes short pastry strawberry tarts etc. We all agreed that £8:95 each was a reasonable charge for what we had. On a positive note a nice selection of teas were available and the hard working waiter did replenish our drinks. If this was a serious effort from a quality hotel to promote their restaurant services in our opinion they failed the fayre on offer was not worth the £16:95 which is being advertised as the post offer price. The Conservatory was full this afternoon however 5 of those customers were extremely disappointed and will not be returning :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophiepuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional food and service to match”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Everything was superb and I have nothing negative to say. The restaurant was really bright and clean and the conservatory was beautiful. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeokeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The special offer vouchers are a good buy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have eaten here a few times now with Travelzoo vouchers, 3 course meals and afternoon tea. The food is always of a high quality even if the service can sometimes be slow. Sitting having coffee in the old hall is always a lovely experience. I would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lytton's also viewed

 
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lytton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing