We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The worlds end" was filmed there :)”
Review of Gardeners Arms - CLOSED

Gardeners Arms
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are proud to be the first Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery in Hertfordshire!!! Serving freshly prepared Carvery roasts daily, along with Burgers, and fresh hand rolled Pizzas every day, we cannot wait for you to join us. In fact, we serve Breakfast from 8am daily, so why not set your day up with an unlimited Breakfast for £4.29?!!!
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"The worlds end" was filmed there :)”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location, this restaurant has been used to film "the worlds end" , so not only great cheap food but also famous location, highly recommended, great roast with great service and friendly chefs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Samikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    49
    43
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Doesnt do exactly what it says on the tin!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The menu for the breakfast says " help yourself to the following items" and it lists all the breakfast items.. . Being a huge eater as iam a bodybuilder and get through a vast calorie intake to go with my training. This help yourself menu appealled to me. . But its not true. . I was handed a plate with 2 sausages and 2 bacon and 2 bread on and was then invited to help myself to the eggs, beans etc. . I can devoir 6 slices of bread but the bread was out of reach. . If the menu states help yourself then it should deliever this promise. And i would have been helping myself to unlimited sausage and bacon as the menu states i can. . And not make statements that it is not fullfilling.. A blatant lie. And a let down... Its not rocket science is it.. Being handed your 2 portoins of food is not help yourself... Doh!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ourchoiceplease1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshireclanger
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The place is busy, and ok for a quick cheap carvery. The service was efficient and friendly but the food was a bit of a let down tonight. It is a case of pile it high, sell it cheap. The turkey was too long under the hot light and dry and crumbling. The veg were looking not too appealing, obviously frozen and heated up. The 'carver' was pleasant and efficient. If you are hungry and want a meal that is not fancy and you don't want to linger; and one that is cheap come here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordshireclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent meal and value for money. Tasty food with generous roast portions. The restaurant is always busy with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value but intrusive music”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is part of the Crown Carveries group. As others have said, the experience of the food depends largely on when you arrive and how long it has been lying under the heated lights. We were lucky as fresh turkey and roast potatoes arrived as we were being served. They were excellent. Conversely, the beef had been there a while and it wasn't all that good.

Subject to the above, value for money is excellent. This venue was reasonably clean too.

One problem we found was the muzak. For some reason this restaurant, in common with many others, wants to impose the sound on you whether you like it or not. Why don't they provide a quiet room for those of us who like to talk?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank einfahrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardeners Arms also viewed

Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing