We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food but busy”
Review of The Dragon King

The Dragon King
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Letchworth
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food but busy”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Food is nice/drinks expensive. Very family friendly but very busy. Do take outs also. Not easy if you are a lone parent with small children as you go up and help yourselves to the food and juggling plates and hungry kids can be difficult

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank s e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    85
    63
    18
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went here for the first time a few years ago and enjoyed the food but tonights experience was the opposite. The choice of food from the buffet was limited and the quality poor. For the forty pounds we spent on a meal for three we could have gone to a restaurant a had freshly cooked food. I wiill not be going back again.To top it all we got the bill and was told the card machine was not working. My daughter had to walk in the rain to get cash, we should have been told when seated that they were only taking cash.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first visit to the Dragon King and a Sunday lunchtime. I am always a little wary of buffets, expecting cool and tired food. However this was not the case at all and our party of four thoroughly enjoyed a varied and fresh lunch. The staff replaced the food frequently, the choices were good and the meats tender. It was a good experience and we shall return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding value but not for gourmets.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If a high proportion of diners appear grossly overweight you can be pretty sure a restaurant puts quantity & price ahead of quality.
We called in at lunchtime on a weekday and actally enjoyed a large and satisfying meal for about £8 per head inc. China tea! No one could criticise the sheer value of a reasonably large and varied hot buffet or salad bar plus desserts for under £7 per head but, of course, the ingredients are not the finest.
Spacious, well furnished premises and courteous staff complete the picture and as a pensioner, I am always pleased to find real value for money when eating out. I would award top marks for ambience and value but don't expect a memorable gourmet experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin Uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Chinese buffet restaurant”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My kids (grown up now) still love a visit to the Dragon King. More limited choices at lunchtime but good price. More evening choices but more expensive. Food sometimes could do with being hotter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dragon King also viewed

Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 
Baldock, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Dragon King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing