We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 58 Restaurants in Letchworth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked in the week to dine at this restaurant on Mother's Day (10/03/2013). We could only get a table for 5.30pm, which was ok. My husband and I, my mother in law and two young children were seated but after ordering at about 5.45pm, we were not served until nearly 7.00pm. They didn't have any children's menus and instead offered to cook my son (2 years old), a smaller portion of the menu. I asked for plain chicken and ended up getting chicken in breadcrumbs for my son. My husband ordered the duck with roast dinner, however his roast potatoes were no more that boiled potatoes rolled in fat! I ordered the lamb rump, which was really tough. My mother in law was eating Rennies after finishing her meal of lamb shank!
When we got the bill (not the cheapest place), we had been charged for items we did not order, and when asked by staff if we enjoyed our meal, my husband began to explain the problems and was given the response, "oh sorry you didn't enjoy your meal". That was it!
We were the last in the restaurant as it was closing around us at only about 9.00pm? Felt a bit uncomfortable. This restaurant was obviously expecting to be busy on Mother's Day but didn't cater accordingly, the staff need training with their customer service skills and don't book in the evening if you don't want to feel ushered out by the time you are eating your desserts!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flossy6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    118
    42
    34
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We have regular meals here”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have regular meals here & usually are very pleased with the generous portions & quality. We decided to celebrate my birthday here on Sunday afternoon, but was very disappointed with the lack of service, it took an hour to get our first drinks! We had to continue to chase staff for service throughout the afternoon. We enjoy the surroundings & food they just need to give employ more staff and give them a kick up the back side, we would of drunk a lot more if they asked!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen478cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Wine and Dine”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I absolutely loved everything about this place! It was so welcoming had a lovely atmosphere the food was good and well presented. I just wish I lived nearer so I could visit here more often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pears700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've been visiting for 6 years now and have never had a bad meal. The food is not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for in quality and portion size. They're great with kids, the waitresses are friendly and we've always found it clean. I'd recommend booking at busy times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mona-stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food and family friendly”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have eaten here several times with family and friends although only at lunch time, and the food has always been excellent. On one occasion we organized a booking for a large walking group for a Sunday lunch and it was just as delicious. Large open plan pub who welcome families too. They provide high chairs for children and always make a fuss of the little ones. No airs and graces just honest good quality, freshly prepared food. I have no hesitation in recommending and will return soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant also viewed

Willian, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing