We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Leominster, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loufairy
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend! ”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Wow! We stayed at Wheelbarrow castle for a get together with friends Friday to Sunday. It far exceeded our expectations, it’s just lovely and a lot bigger than the pictures show. We had a lots of children in our party and they loved it and had so much fun! The house is well equipped and each room is a great size with some fantastic en suites. There is a fab garden where the kids played and burnt off their energy.
We would highly recommend this property for large get togethers. We will definitely be booking in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed November 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We spent an excellent weekend at Wheelbarrow Castle celebrating our daughters 18th birthday. We were a family of 17 and the children loved exploring the many varied rooms. The owner was very helpful and the property is kept clean and tidy with towels provided. We ate out at the Grove and Bowl a mile and a half away which was an excellent experience - the food was delicious. Would highly recommend this for families looking to live in a large house with many interesting rooms. Was also very relaxing and we will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodrego
rodrego
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing house, perfect for a big group ”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at the castle over Christmas and it was everything we wanted and more.
Great amount of space for the whole family, plenty of space for kids to enjoy themselves as well as separate room for the adults to relax in peace. All bedrooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The kitchen is spacious, well equipped and with a large table that fit 16 of us round.
There is a big field behind the house which was perfect to send the kids and dogs to when they needed to let off some steam. There are great views that can been seen from the top of the house as well as the back of the field.
Leominster is a nice old market town with plenty of nice small shops and cafes.
Loads of good walks in the local area with stunning scenery.
This was an excellent place to spend Christmas, the owners made sure that we felt welcome and comfortable and were very helpful with our questions.
We will be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina C
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, well equiped Kitchen”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Booked via the owners website, so easy and the owner great to deal with. A great house, very comfortable and a large kitchen and dining room it made catering very easy. The down side was that the best views from the top of the garden were challenging to reach if you are mobility impaired. However there is adequate outside space at the lower level a sun trap outdoor seating area and conservatory. It is a very old house and the floors and steps also may be a challenge for wheelchair users however a ground floor bedroom is great for the less able. The oldness was very charming
Such interesting pictures throughout the house that caused a lot of discussion I would definitely stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and quality
Liked least: The steep slope to the upper garden
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing