We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with family”
Review of Chequers

Chequers
Ranked #20 of 55 Restaurants in Leominster
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meal with family”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here on the 17th of February for a family meal,to celebrate my Dads 92nd Birthday.There was 12 of us.We has a lovely welcome.Ordered our drinks and sat by the lovely open fire.Later on we all went into a room called the stables,which also had a lovely log burner lit in the room.The staff came and took our order for lunch.When it arrived it was brilliant lovely and hot .We all said what a lovely meal it was.We then ordered desserts which was also great. When we had finished we all went back into the bar and enjoyed sitting by the open fire.We would go there again and recommend it to friends.

Helpful?
2 Thank ladycarol9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautifully decorated, great service. The food was fabulous! If I didn't live locally I would love to stay over as colleagues have said how gorgeous the rooms are. Have eaten here a few times always excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmorgan4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take a step back in time for a rustic treat”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a reliable pub where I have never eaten a disappointing meal. There isn't a wide choice but the mains, including "specials" & the puds are all excellent as well as being very good value. The service is friendly but not intrusive & although we often go prior to an appointment,we know we won't be kept waiting too long.The 3 bar areas are genuine "olde worlde" and provide a relaxing atmosphere that is an extension of the ancient country town outside.Dogs are also welcome,which is a bonus these days.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly pub serving good quality pub grub”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Came here on a Saturday night. A local pub with a cliententelle made up of regulars. Friendly place with good food and quite a cosy atmosphere. Plenty of character and characters. Nice to be able sit in front of the fire. It was quite busy the night we were there and judging by all the cackling and shreaking, everyone was having a good time. The pub staff did a great job of being warm and attentive, looking out for people. Definitely worth a visit to soak up the local atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xeverity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local produce, warm atmosphere, good value”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Chequers is the kind of genuine pub that's becoming too rare these days. Like its black-and-white construction, the series of tiny rooms inside are the original layout, still furnished in vintage local style with heavy, carved wood. It has an open fire, a heated outdoor area and offers an unpretentious welcome.

Local produce is a strong feature: beers, ciders and Herefordshire beef. The meat's fantastic. I'm a great fan of their double burger with bacon, cheese and chips for around £7. My mum had a steak, which was also perfect. You can have a relaxed, enjoyable lunch at Chequers for around a tenner; some evenings they offer curry nights, wine tastings and other specialities. Pensioners get lunch on Mondays and Tuesdays for £5. They have high chairs but, due to the pub's layout, I'd only take children of running-around age on days when sitting outside is an option (there is shelter and heating). Wheelchair access would be viable.

They didn't have decaf tea or coffee when we went. They promised they'd get some in, which sums up their attitude to customer satisfaction. Lovely place. You'll want to come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chequers also viewed

Leominster, Herefordshire
Kingsland, Leominster
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing