We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE !!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DONT STAY HERE !!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Arrived on 15th of march 2012 and wanted to leave as soon as i pulled up on the car park the outside of the building looked like it was falling down and when i got inside it didnt get much better. The staff in the hotel were great to be fair but the whole place needs a refurbishment or knocking down and starting again. The food was below average and over priced, the bathroom (if you could call it a bathroom) was dirty with a bad smell and no water pressure from the taps or shower. I have stayed in lots of best western hotels and have had great stays in them but this hotel does not deserve to have the name of best western infact it can only be described as worst western. DONT STAY HERE !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    125
    73
    27
    16
See reviews for
29
171
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have stayed at hotels all over the world and the staff at the Talbot are among the best for being helpful, staff at front desk, bar staff and waiters top notch, rooms are a bit dated and bathrooms are poor, a lot of rooms from what i can gather do not have showers, bar area is quirky and old beams give the place an old world feel, wonderful fire in the bar but seems to be very hit and miss when it is lit no matter what the weather is, which is a shame.
Food is great value for money and service is quick.
I have stayed at the Talbot several times over the years and few complains, starting to look very run down which makes me relucant to recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Arrived early Saturday evening after a day at the races in Chepstow. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was as I expected it to be, basic and clean. Free wi-fi was a bonus. The bar is cosy and serves decent beer . I paid £50 BB for 2 which is a bargain. I will stay again if I’m around Leominster again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Arrived early evening. Reception area has very low ceilings but it transpired that the old wooden beams were over 300 years old! Bar area with a "snug" lounge, open log fires etc. - all very pleasant. Ate off the lounge menu which was fine and breakfast good in the morning.

Room was clean and warm and Wifi worked fine. All staff encountered were very pleasant.

In the area on business but Leominster looks a small, pleasant market town with the hotel at its centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkside357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The staff are great, the breakfast was freshly cooked but the dinner availability was mixed. They don't open the dining room on a Sunday and only offer a very reduced bar menu. We both have current medical problems so asked for a room located on lst floor but were offered one which was a long way from the stairs (they have no lift) so we were then offered the only room they have which is on the ground floor. The room was convenient but the furniture was very shabby and didn't justify charging the same rate as the original room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McLellan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Arrived 16 January 2012 , firstly the wi - fi didn't work in room after being told it would definitely work , room 20 was a non smoking room but you had to pass smoking rooms at the start of corridor surrounding you with the stench of cigarette smoke is this allowed in 2012 ? , we decided to eat in the hotel bad financial choice mixed grille £11.95 ok at the time but decided to have a wander about the village to pubs and hotels and to our amazement £6.95 / £7.95 / £9.50 was the most being charged for the same . After calling it a night back to room past the smoking corridor ( cough,cough ) to bed woke up about 3 , room is freezing I mean freezing the duvet was at most a fat sheet there was no other blankets ended up using the towels from the bathroom to cover beds , in the hotels defence it was a cold night but we would of been warmer in the car !! Sorry Leominster but this hotel doesn't encourage us back

Room Tip: Ask for heating an a map of the local eateries you'll save lots and meet nice folk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John7747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leominster hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed one night prior to visiting relatives. Hotel is very old and has a lot of character. Our room was a little on the compact size but very clean and had a lovely shower. Only downside was that it was quite cold when we first went in but once we worked the heater out it soon warmed up. Could do with an update but would not want them to take character away.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor or you will walk through a maze!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
9.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
9.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
12.0 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
9.3 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: West Street, Leominster HR6 8EP, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Talbot Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leominster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Talbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Leominster
Leominster Best Western
Talbot Hotel Leominster, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing