We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely English garden with a view across a meadow and tea with delicious cakes on a sunny day -mmm”

The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A stone house overlooking the church green with a lovely vintage atmosphere. Home of Scrummy Bites contemporary catering. Delicious light lunches handmade using local produce. Naughty cakes, award winning scones and exotic desserts. Gluten & dairy free options available. Regular supper club for members. Outside patio and garden seating and log fire on cold days. Friendly welcome. Dogs welcome in the garden.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful place for a relaxing tea with delicious cakes - I can particularly recommend the chocolate cake

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank margaretb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Owner at The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Garden. I hope you get the chance to visit us again sometime soon.
We are OPEN on sunny Sundays from 2pm-5pm over the summer holidays as well as our usual times. Give a quick ring on 01568 709142 just to check before you come.
All the best
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Well-signposted from the road, what a find. A lovely location with beautiful garden out front and ‘secret’ garden out the back. I went ‘off menu’ and ordered an iced coffee – which was delicious and I was asked (and gave) honest feedback. The ‘more milk’ requested arrived promptly. Excellent food – well presented and really tasty. And impossible not to resist one of the delicious cakes. Great place with very thoughtful touches (in the loo, flannels for drying hands, cold drinks in small carafes inc tap water, nasturtium petal in the green salad) – also has small shop in one of the rooms – selling, amongst other unexpected delights, arnica cream for goodness sake. Amazing!) Independent enterprising people getting it right like this really deserve our support.
Our late lunch included the arrival of thirty 6 year olds from the local school who were doing a project about food. Their thoughtful teacher was horrified that they all believed that tea out consisted of a lunch box with a free toy (i.e. MacDonalds dare I say). I wouldn’t say our meal was ‘disturbed’ – the pupils were so well behaved and a credit to their school. Hats off to the owner for getting so involved – cleverly planting seeds for customers of the future and being truly involved in real education.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fabchicktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Owner at The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Garden. It was a very eventful afternoon with 32 six year olds coming for tea. I agree with you that they were very well behaved and a credtit to their school.They managed to polish off a large quantity of our homemade scones with jam and cream, lemon drizzle cake and chocolate slice. I am so glad you were not disturbed and we do hope you visit again very soon.
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

To describe 'The Garden' as just a Tea Room probably gives the wrong impression and definitely understates the experience awaiting you. If indeed it is a Tea Room then the gold standard has been set, the bar raised and other assorted cliches rendered insufficient. Would-be opposition in this field beware, you need to up your game! Superb fresh light lunches, local seasonal produce, top notch homemade bakery products, perfect surroundings to eat inside or out, lovely atmosphere and friendly personal service are all the excellent parts that make up an even better whole! Great experience that need to be, exactly that, experienced! Completely recommended, go try and then write your own, inevitably 5 star, review.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TonyKnighton_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Owner at The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Hi Tony...thank you for your lovely review.
We do enjoy welcoming people to The Garden Tea Room. I hope you get the chance to visit us again very soon.
This weather is great at the moment for eating outside in the sunny garden overlooking the church green or cooling down after a hot day with a glass of something cool on the shady patio.
All the best
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a delightful discovery, using the gardens and front rooms of a gorgeous old Victorian house overlooking Kingsland Green, this is the epitome of picturesque. We had probably the best scones {melting, fresh, properly heated in the oven} I think we've ever had and served with clotted cream and local raspberry jam to die for. After a river swim, this was the perfect retreat. The foodie revolution is now spreading out from Ludlow area and this tea-room in the pretty village of Kingsland is a worthy and delicious detour. We shall return!

Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanna b, Owner at The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi Andy, it was great to see you again after a long while. Thank you for your fab review..I am so glad you appreciated our 'prize winning' scones that we bake here to my Granny's old recipe. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family here for tea in the Garden on a hot Sunday afternoon.
Best wishes to you all.....Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We came upon this by chance - the pub next door looked closed and we wanted a light lunch so decided to try The Garden. The place is quite delightful, and the menu sounded gorgeous. We were bowled over by the friendliness of the staff, and the quality of the food. Choices for lunches vary from salads and paninis to cooked meals. Daily specials are also available. We had a delicious baked camembert to share, and a platter of smoked salmon and salad. All of the ingredients were top quality, and the dishes came with lots of fresh bread, olive oil and balsamic vinegar for dipping and olives. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 99apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Tea Room & Delicatessen also viewed

Leominster, Herefordshire
Kingsland, Leominster
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing