We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish!”
Review of Jalalabad

Jalalabad
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Leominster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Consistently good Bangladeshi and Indian cuisine, including an interesting selection of more unusual dishes such as mussels, monk fish, lobster, salmon and sea bass. Yum, yum!
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fish!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Enjoyed the food here. Lots of fish choices on the menu. Food was prepared and presented well. It was a saturday night in Feb so there wasn't many people in so the restaurant did lack alittle atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMinkle850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“jalalabad as in the name is just bad !”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

so i ring jalalabad to make an order ,first they wont let me pay on my card which was a bit of hassle ,then the order couldnt make sense of what he was saying in all fairness ,
the food was more than terrible really bad i took it back because the chicken wasnt cooked,the meat was still pink ,so as im writing this exspecting to be ill in a few hours .not just that but my mrs who so happens to be carrying my child could also become ill after eating aswell .
as said took it back but instead of cooking me a fresh whole new meal ,only gave me a curry so when i returned, the rest of the meal had gotten cold ,after opening the new curry ,right away when got the chicken out to check this had happened a second time ,but to my expectation's was also pink insdie again ,to think for a small meal i payed close to £13 which to me is very over priced considering that i have been a chef for the last 6 years , that a meal for 2 max should cost a fiver or less if cooked at home ,very disappointed after seeing the awards that they have ,sure you would feel the same way in this case food can be deadly not cooked for the right time

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reluctant wrinkly in Herefordshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unusual curry dishes”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This restaurant is restoring the reputation it had many years ago mainly with it's adventurous approach. Your 'Chicken Madras' can still be had, but the menu is wide ranging, even if the spices tend tooverwhelm such dishes as monkfish.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoLo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Great Meal with Friends at Jalalabad!””
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had an excellent nightout at Jalalabad , the food was great, the service waqs excellent, and the whole atmosphere and ambience was terrific. Great value, highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old is Gold”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The best Indian restaurant we have ever been to. Ever since this restaurant opened in Leominster mant many years back, we have not been to any other Indian restaurants. My 3 year old son likes to eat a bit of everything and mostly has his desserts as his main course. So Jalalabad Akbari is an ideal place for family. My choosy wife enjoys the special Fish Rogon , while I enjoy my Tandori Mix kebabs (almost as a main course) and my son is enjoying the wonderful Indian sweets and pastries. Except that you might find it a little pricey as compared to others, everything else Quality, Choice, Service, Ambience, Location, et al could not be better. Any day I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rich_nixxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalalabad also viewed

Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to Jalalabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing