We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickory Stick

Hickory Stick
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Leominster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Part of the Grove Golf Club, but run separately as a restaurant
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We went for a family meal after bowling today and we had great food, excellent service and would highly recommend visiting the Hickory Stick. It was excellent value for money because you get good size portions of lovely tasty food. My young son who is a fussy eater, ate all of his meal including sampling some different food which we bought as extras on the side.

From main course to desert, the food was excellent, portion size excellent, presentation excellent, atmosphere excellent, friendly and welcoming staff excellent. Will we be coming back again? Most definitely, we are already planning our next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    26
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great evening!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Four of us went to the Hickory Stick for dinner a couple of Saturdays ago - the table was booked for 19.15 but one of my friends didnt arrive until nearer 20.30 - we werent made to feel that this was an inconvenience. The restaurant was busy and the atmosphere, service and food were superb.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jock-MacSporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Where to go for a special Sunday lunch? After our visit to Hickory Stick there is no doubt! Eight of us spanning a 60 year age range and tastes just as broad, all thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon. The food was delicious with great choice- the beef, pork, lamb and fish we had all bursting with fresh local ingredients and flavours to savour. The mushroom starter was the best we have ever tasted and the choice of puddings so mouth wateringly difficult. Enhancing all of this is the relaxed, friendly atmosphere and the cheerful host. All in all, a perfect outing in beautiful Herefordshire countryside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A group of us had an evening meal there recently and my salad starter was the best I have ever had in a restaurant.
My chicken was also first rate, and there was a wide dessert choice but I had eaten too much for that!
All my friends agreed the atmosphere, the service and the food were superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Place to Eat for Miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at the Hickory Stick for an amazing meal. It's not often you are offered on a menu or special's board home grown Braised Breast or Rack of Lamb. It is produced on the owners farm and cooked to perfection. All the staff make you feel so welcome. The atmosphere for lunch or dinner is hard to beat in this area. Well done to you all.
We will be returning very soon for our family get together, as I can't think of a more relaxing and well run establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monaco1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Stick also viewed

Leominster, Herefordshire
Leominster, Herefordshire
 
Kingsland, Leominster
Leominster, Herefordshire
 

Been to Hickory Stick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing