We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B”
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgate House
Ranked #1 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The best B&B”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed three nights at Highgate House and it was a joy, from the carrot cake for afternoon tea when I arrived to the fantastic full English breakfasts each morning. The room was immaculate and Margaret and Cyril were charming hosts. They gave me very helpful information about local restaurants and pubs as well as attractions in and around Leominster. I would happily recommend this B&B,it is excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneAustralia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
So glad you enjoyed staying with us and looking around this beautiful area. It was lovely to talk to you and hear how Christmas is spent in Australia. We wish you and your family a great Christmas and a healthy new year and look forward to welcoming you to Highgate House again in the not too distant future.Many thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
49
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Can you stay at a nicer B&B? Run by a great couple who really welcome you into their fantastic home. We stayed in room 1 which is a large triple. great breakfast and you are only a 15 minute walk into the centre. Very good value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zxr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
It's so kind of you to take the time to do us such a wonderful review.We think Highgate House is a wonderful characterful house and we like our guests to feel at home with us. We would be very glad to welcome you again, should you need to be in Leominster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at Highgate Hse for only 1 night but the owners Cyril & Margaret where excellent. The triple room with en-suite we had was first class, spotlessly clean with tea making and even cake in our room, The breakfast was really good to. would highly reccomend this B&B

Room Tip: A little more expensive but ask for the the tripple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPG1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us,even though it was only for one night. It's always good for us to know what guests thought of our B and B. Perhaps you'll stop with us again if you need to be in this area.Many thanks for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having researched this B and B via Tripadvisor I can only say believe what you read! This is a wonderful place to stay made even better by the owners, Margaret and Cyril, who are delightful people and genuinely want their guests to enjoy the ambiance of their wonderful Victorian home. The rooms were lovely and well thought out, beautifully presented and decorated. Margaret even had cake ready for us to have in our room when we arrived, a nice touch.
It was also good value for money, proving that great quality doesn't have to cost the earth.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of it and a wide choice including fresh fruit salad each morning.
If we're in Leominster again we will look no further than Highgate House, a prefect place to stay which deserves the accolades credited to it.
Thank you Margaret and Cyril, we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back/side of the house may be quieter as quite it's on quite a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyBee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Wow, how lovely to find such a terrific review for doing something we really enjoy ie) having guests in our home. As you know,we only started our B and B after getting bored with retirement and now it's something we wish we had done sooner. Our aim is to give guests what we would like ourselves and a bit more if possible. Glad you enjoyed your stay and when you move to Leominster at least you will know two people!! Thanks so much for taking the time to do such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was the verdict of our 11 year old daughter after our recent overnight stay. We met up with friends and Margaret and Cyril kindly rearranged the breakfast room so we could all eat together. This was just one example of the relaxed, attentive and cheerful attitude we found there. Our daughter was also greatly impressed with the cake. Breakfast for all of us was varied and delicious, with veggie bacon and sausages on offer for two of us. We had the triple room at the back and this was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
What a pleasure it was for us to go into Trip Advisor and find this wonderful review. What a pleasure it was also to meet you all and to have you stay with us.We do hope you'll stay again if you need to be in this area. Very many thanks for taking the time to do such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed early September for a local wedding and Highgate House provided everything you need from a B&B with clean rooms and nicely cooked breakfast. It was also convenient for Hampton court castle.

However what made me write this review is that yesterday I received a nice surprise! I had left my pyjamas there and thought that was the end of that. Yet yesterday I received a parcel and they had posted them to me unprompted! This was very kind and beyond the call of duty. So thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadiahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Nadia, so glad you received your pyjamas. Did you notice they had been washed and ironed as well?.You didn't put a full post code on your registration card but a very kind lady at Leominster post office found it for me so glad they turned up safely.
Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having looked online at Highgate House, and been impressed, we booked a 3 night stay and were not disappointed. We opted for Room 2, which as the photos had suggested, was spacious, well decorated and even contained a couple of 'easy' chairs, perfect for reading the paper, while scoffing a slice of Margaret's lovely cake! Margaret and Cyril are excellent b&b hosts and full of useful advise. We had been a little disappointed in the restaurants/pubs in Leominster at first glance, but were persuaded to try the Italian restaurant, Milano, which we liked so much we spent 2 evening there. We could walk into the town from Highgate House, which was a lovely bonus and allowed us to share a bottle of wine. Well done Margaret and Cyril, you certainly went a long way towards making our trip to the area such a success. Highly recommended for comfort and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeysuckle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Very many thanks for your great review and for choosing to stay with us. We're so glad we helped to make your visit to the Leominster area enjoyable. The praise is even more important to us as you are ex B and B owners. We try very hard to suggest the most suitable places for our guests to eat,even having to try out everywhere ourselves ( what a chore ) Anyhow it would be lovely to have you both stay with us and perhaps we'll see you again some time in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
0.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
309 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
11.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#13 of 13 in Leominster
14 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
35 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Property: Highgate House
Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing