We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Highgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highgate House
Ranked #1 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

So many positives have been written about this B&B that there's not too much left to write. Cyril and Margaret provide excellent accommodation, hearty breakfasts and friendly faces whenever you see them. However, it's the little extras that make the difference. The attention to detail in the rooms, comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities (with fresh milk if you ask) and delicious homemade cakes in your room when you return at the end of the day. The delightful dining room, where breakfast is served, has a cosy open fire and classical music playing discreetly. The coffee is good and hot and the cooked breakfast is served on warm plates. Perfect. What more could you ask for? It was like coming home. A great place to stay and a fabulous base from which to explore the area (all the way to Wales). We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Bambi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review after you had told us you were fussy customers.!! We really enjoy all our different guests and from what you've written, I think it must show. Hope you arrived safely at your next destination ( on the other side of the country ) and it's all you expected. Look forward to seeing you again next time you're in England and perhaps the weather will be kinder to you. Once again, very many thanks for your lovely review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Highgate House, Leominster: Another very enjoyable stay at this excellent B&B. Warm welcome, very nice room, friendly service and good breakfasts. Town centre is about 10 minutes walk away. There is a sizeable Wetherspoon's pub in the centre too - The Duke's Head.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choosy_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us again and for your super review. It's always a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my second stay at Highgate House and - like the first - was perfect in every way from beginning to end. Food and accommodation are excellent and the hosts very friendly. Everything is beautifully clean and the owners' have made many thoughtful touches to ensure guests have a a most comfortable stay. I have already booked to go back next year. What more can I say? ...

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank MikeD752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us again. It's always very rewarding for us when people want to come back to Highgate House . Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a beautifully furnished and maintained guest house with spotless and very comfortable rooms added to wonderfully friendly and welcoming hosts and you have the perfect place to stay
in Leominster.The food and service generally was of the highest standard and I would whole heartedly recommend this lovely establishment. My recent stay was absolutely perfect and without any fault.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neale_long40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review. This is the 4th year you have stayed with us and you're already booked for next year so that tells us you like our B and B and feel at home with us. Exactly the sort of atmosphere we want to create.Look forward to 2014 !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having stayed at Highgate House in 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit, it made sense to stay there again on our return to Leominster and we weren't disappointed. A comfy bed, a lovely breakfast and warm welcome, what more do you need.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celiabridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks once again for staying with us and for your lovely review.It 's such a pleasure when guests come back again for a second visit..Hope you found something interesting at the two places I suggested you might like to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Well everything here was really first class. Lovley room, spotless, well decorated, spacious. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, they really do take pride in running the place. Breakfast was relaxed and top quality. I'd stay again for certain and can't recommend the place enough. It has four stars from the tourist board, I think it should have five...!
Great place for a couples visit to Leominster, near enough to Ludlow or Hay on Wye

Room Tip: We had the most expenive room I think, which had a double and a single bed in it. Didn't see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oysterpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

We are really grateful for your terrific review and more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to know that guests would stay again and we'd be pleased to see you.
Perhaps next time, the weather would be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault it. The room was large and airy and very well decorated with an ensuite with large shower cubicle. The breakfast was really good with cereals, yogurt, toast and cooked breakfast and the customer service was fabulous with great recommendations on where to eat out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret M, Owner at Highgate House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We really appreciate your lovey review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leominster hotels
0.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#13 of 13 in Leominster
19 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
38 reviews
0 mi away
Grove Farm
Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
33 reviews
0 mi away
Nicholson Farm
Nicholson Farm
#1 of 1 in Docklow
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House

Address: 29 Hereford Road, Leominster HR6 8JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 120 year old Victorian property, retaining many original features.There is rear parking and it's a 10-15 minute walk into town where you will find several restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highgate House Hotel Leominster
Highgate House Leominster, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing