We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay at the corners inn”
Review of The Corners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Corners Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“nice stay at the corners inn”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

stayed in room 4 which is an annex to the rear, very clean modern room with huge bed and very modern bathroom with a double shower. had a meal in the bar which is very cosy, the food is top quality. breakfast was good and the hosts were very friendly

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zanshindillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    50
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
30
78
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a pleasant Sunday lunch in a spacious dining area. The interior of this pub is well presented however does lack a bit of the country pub charm. The service was fast and friendly although the waiting staff looked bored and disinterested. We were a party of 5 adults and were seated at a table giving us plenty of room. When our fixed Sunday lunch arrived we were amazed that the vegetables were served in a dish only just large enough to provide a portion of 3 veg for 3 adults. We requested more veg which arrived in an even smaller dish, however, this said we all now had an average portion of each type.

The food was of a good standard but not exceptional. It is a little too Al dente but this did not make a differnce to our experience. The restaraunt was very quiet. Now to our biggest disappointment ....when we paid the bill we discovered an extra charge of £4 had been added for, yep, the extra veg!! At no point were we advised of this charge and it leaves a bad taste in the mouth. We have been left feeling cheated. It makes you wonder if the initial portion was deliberately smaller so that inevitably you need more... Let's hope not! Things may be tough in the pub trade but this charge is not acceptable. Veg is cheap.... In any walk of life. Altogether it was nice but should strive for BRILLIANT !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guss44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here last night & we were very impressed. The room was spotless and tastefully furnished, the bathroom was very clean and the shower was excellent. We ate in the bar and the food was excellent- beautifully cooked & very good quality. I found that the service was friendly and attentive. We really could not fault this place at all, and we found it excellent value for money. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room number 7 and the bed was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 135Sarah135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I'm fascinated by the diverse reviews about this establishment. We stayed for the second time en-route to north Wales, having stayed approximately a year ago when meeting business acquaintances who also stayed, everything on that occasion was acceptable and good.
This time it was just myself and my partner who stayed the one night. We arrived at approximately 3.30 in the afternoon, whereupon we rang the 'private' bell and the landlady arrived and gave us our key, perhaps she was a little curt but hey, she may have been having an afternoon nap, as they say, no one knows what goes on behind closed doors.
We asked for the same room as we had had before due to the wonderful bed being so big and comfortable. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and warmish, you can adjust the heat from the air conditioning unit yourself so our room was soon warm enough. The radiator in the bathroom was stone cold, however I remembered from our last visit that we were told the bathroom heating comes on later in the day, and sure enough before we went for dinner the radiator was piping hot.

Our evening meal was good and the lovely waitress Louise could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We got chatting to our hostess who had earlier been a little curt, and she engaged with us and was helpful and pleasant. The meal was very good and reasonably priced.
We slept well enough and it is nice to have in room tea making facilities so one can become conscious with a tea whilst watching the morning news in a huge bed.
Breakfast was acceptable. Good by some hostelries standards, average by some others I have stayed in. Nonetheless overall a good package.
We met the landlord the last time we stayed and found him effusive and very affable. Perhaps some clientele don't get his sense of humour. We did, so were not offended by his slightly forward manner.
The negatives…..?…Well the door of our room was very difficult to open and close, the internet was unobtainable (although there was a modem actually in our room) and I do feel that £80 for bed and breakfast is on the steep side. I have stayed in many places where you pay a lot less for a more complete package, not so good we felt…..would we return and stay again, yes we would but would look at other nearby alternatives and compare what one gets for one's money.

I must mention the bar area in the evening. Great vibe, warm, comfortable, pleasing, welcoming, comfortable and appealingly atmospheric.

For the money, I can not rave about this place as it is in comparison to other establishments quite dear for what you get, if it was less expensive then I could happily give this place five stars for most aspects.

Room Tip: I have given an overall rating of average which is a little unfair…..most aspects were very good, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreasofmayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This event was a birthday lunch get-together. We had table in the bar area. The Barman had a poor attitude, i.e. he was rude. Bar staff did not know how to wait on table - over reaching on other members of the party when serving party individuals with food.
As with steak, staff should ask "do you want the meat rare/medium/well cooked" for liver (ours was rare - not so safe for liver) !. Vegetables were cooked OK, but again, the question arises staff need to ask whether the customer requires veg. aldenti/medium/overcooked !. Chef's tend to cook most vegetables aldenti (not all customers have all their own teeth). Not many complaints from other party members - steaks cooked to customer order; lasagne, fish dishes OK.
The billing was un-professional – a scrap of paper to list food items and a till printout with itemised prices – need top to put the two together for professional IT presentation of bill – Bill did add up correctly however. Service was a bit slow, not many patrons eating.

Overall, a two hour lunch spoilt by an un-professional approach !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey-HB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for a short break .We were met with a warm welcome by the lady owner..The room was a delight ,it was spotless with everything you would need , the bathroom was lovely with a large shower unit and plenty of thick towels . The bed was very large and comfy , had a great nights sleep as it was nice and quiet . We ate in the bar ,which was enhanced by the lovely fires . The staff and meal were superb , even though there was 3 large christmas parties going on, we were still attended to very well. The breakfast choice is plentiful and the cooked breakfast was delicious .We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and will certainly be returning to this beautiful olde worlde pub and its superb rooms. Would highly recommend .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

For my fathers 73rd Birthday we went for Sunday lunch. The landlord was so rude that it will bé the last time I go to that pub. 18 for lunch is a good number as without us it would have been a quiet service. Were we treated with respect - NO! As a family we have used the corners over the years, with special events, shoot meetings etc. Today is the last. Food was okay but the attitude stunk! At 2pm the lights were off and the bar was empty. How I help my tounge when the landlord said to our table 'and where is SHE going now!' about my mother I do not know. Thank god for the Àngel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepySleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leominster
3.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
310 reviews
7.6 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
6.2 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
37 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corners Inn

Property: The Corners Inn
Address: Kingsland, Leominster HR6 9RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Corners Hotel Leominster
The Corners Inn Leominster, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing