We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self catering at Staunton House”
Review of Staunton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leominster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staunton House
Ranked #9 of 13 Leominster B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Staunton House recently and were completely satisfied with all aspects of our stay there. The weather was pretty appalling and if it wasn’t for the high standard of the accommodation and the friendliness of the owners our holiday would have been a complete disaster.
We were given access to all areas of the grounds, swimming pool and tennis court. Unfortunately the weather prevented us from making use of these facilities.
We would definitely want to stay at Staunton House Again.
Thoroughly recommended.
Vaughn and Martine Thomas

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaughn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely house, a welcoming host and hostess, a heated outdoor swimming pool , very good rooms, though the one single room was not as convenient as it might have been and rather small. Just one slight drawback, we had dinner there the first night and while perfectly acceptable , it was not all home cooking and a bit pricey for what it was.
But. There was a lovely drawing room and we really enjoyed our stay. The host has many ideas of interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ancientcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Both my friend Andy and I enjoyed ourselves at Staunton house last weekend..A beautiful house in a lovely village within an easy hit of several very good pubs including New Inn in Pembridge. Very nice rooms, clean and tidy and warm enough too - comfy beds. Richard and Rosie were perfect hosts with Richard getting up at the crack of dawn to do us a full cooked breakfast at 7.15 served in the dining room over looked by George the 4th and Col Purdy wearing his medals. Safe storage for our bikes, two very friendly dogs and a top notch butler to boot. In all we had a great stay and will hopefully return.... forgot about the bath.... its not often a 6'2'' chap can fully stretch out in a bath without touching the end.. magnificent after 90 odd hilly miles

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveKing587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Staunton House for 3 nights at the end of May. It seems unfair to call it a B&B as it is far more than that. It is a beautiful house in a lovely peaceful location. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breafasts were excellent, the coffee especially good! Richard and Rosie are excellent hosts, Richards knowledge of the area is second to none and he helped us make the most of the time we had in Hereford.
I would recommend Staunton House to anyone and hope to stay there again myself in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was a last minute booking to attend a party nearby; having been put off both Hotels in Leominster by the poor reviews. We made a good decision with Staunton House. Had a good night’s sleep in an interesting room and were woken by the sound of pheasants calling
I had perfect scrambled eggs for breakfast, yoghurt and fruit were also available, followed by great coffee and more toast than we could eat.
Hosts Richard & Rosie attentive and discreet. Richard even gave us the provenance of the free range eggs he had used and then suggested alternative scenic routes home.
I have no hesitation recommending this B&B and would certainly stay here again; I’ve stayed with family and felt less welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful B&B for two nights. We have two children and we all had the most relaxing and interesting stay. The accommodation is magnificent with the en-suite rooms overlooking the well manicured gardens. There is a large heated outdoor pool which the children loved, after knocking a ball around on the tennis court. The owners could not have been more helpful and friendly directing us to the best local attractions. The surrounding area of Staunton House is outstanding and having visited Ludlow, Berrington Hall and the Judge's Lodgings we came home to a superb meal which was prepared by the owners using their home-grown vegetables and locally sourced produce.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at Staunton House for 3 nights from June 24th-27th 2011. The B&B is in a wonderful location opposite the church in a quiet secluded village. The house itself is the former vicarage and has been lovingly maintained by the current owners Richard and Rosie Bowen. It retains many of the original Georgian architectural features and has a gracious dining room where breakfast and dinner is served.
We were made most welcome by Richard and Rosie (and their two dogs). The guest bedroom where we slept was of a good size with en suite facilities and a gorgeous view over the garden and fields beyond. The towels were most luxurious!
We were the only guests during that weekend and were served with a delicious meal on arrival on the Friday night - a chicken casserole followed by freshly picked strawberries and cream. Most of the vegetables and strawberries came from the Bowen's own vegetable gardens. After the meal coffee was served in their comfortably furnished drawing room. The traditional cooked breakfast was ample in portion size with fresh fruit and cereals also on offer.
Richard and Rosie could not have been more helpful and hospitable. They gave us a key so that we could have access during the day and waited up for us on the Sunday night as we returned late after a visit to relatives who lived locally. Our only regret was not being able to use the swimming pool - lack of time and rather cloudy and cool weather ruled it out. We shall certainly return to Staunton House on future visits to Herefordshire!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leominster hotels
10.8 mi away
Lower Bache House
Lower Bache House
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
38 reviews
7.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
327 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grove Farm
Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Kimbolton
33 reviews
0 mi away
Nicholson Farm
Nicholson Farm
#1 of 1 in Docklow
26 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#13 of 13 in Leominster
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton House

Address: Staunton-on-Arrow, Leominster HR6 9HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leominster
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Leominster
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century rectory set in 3 acres of stunning grounds, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and, according to many guests, the most comfortable beds ever slept in! We also offer self-catering accommodation in 'The Stables', a late 18thcentury barn which has been sympathetically converted into charming 2-bedroom holiday accommodation with exposed beams throughout. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staunton House Leominster, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing