We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect country-town hotel”
Review of The Burton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Burton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kington
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal and loved every minute. From our initial friendly and efficient welcome by Jaqui in reception, Anita in the restaurant, the staff in the spa, bar and at breakfast impressed us by their warm and helpful attitude. Staff who obviously enjoy their work make a stay in a hotel so much better.
We had a large and very comfortable room (room 5) with plenty of storage space and a large bathroom. We took advantage of an offer when booking, for dinner at a reasonable price and ate our fill (and truth be told, overate). I can strongly recommend the lamb curry and Angela's salmon was excellent.
A plus factor at the Burton hotel is the spa. It has a sauna, steam room and a large swimming pool as well as a substantial gym. Equally important is the bar which serves excellent real ales and delicious bar meals - try the lasagne - its fabulous.
Kington is far enough away from busy roads to ensure a peaceful night's sleep and is a pleasant and quirky town. We highly recommend the Burton Hotel and its lovely staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betwsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed one night as a family of 4 at the Burton Hotel for a nearby family wedding. Very friendly service throughout. Room was a decent size, bright & clean with a powerful shower although the décor was a bit tired. The kids liked the pool / jacuzzi, which was a bonus. Free wifi and car-parking. Good breakfast. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisefinder_9, Owner at The Burton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

thank you for your comments and we are always listening to the feedback our guests give .we are sorry we were not given the opportunity to rectify any mistakes with our meals that were served to you .On the deal we offer it is normally 20.00 for a two course meal with coffee,you were offered 15.00 for similar, which has been received as excellent quality and value by previous kgb customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Visiting the Hay festival and this was the nearest hotel we could book. Old building so lots of creaks and noise travel from other guest rooms. Room was a lovely big size though decor very tired. Double bed had a castor missing so on a tilt. Carpet could have been hoovered better. Excellent service from reception on arrival. Breakfast - full English - very average.
Spa area was fantastic but unfortunately it was only a flying visit for us.
Few small improvements and this could be a great hotel?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate19Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked into the Burton as a Wedding Party of 16 people 30th may 2013..very helpful at desk with very prompt check-in, the lift was extremely helpful with 90year old nans in tow..nice bar area,nice gardens to enjoy sun shine in.. with a brilliant pool with Jacuzzi and sauna which was fab.. top marks to the friendly atmosphere..breakfast was nice but a liitle skimpy..would I stay again yes we would..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timothy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a national deal (cannot recall if it was Groupon or KGB) and had a most enjoyable stay which we felt represented excellent value for money.
Our room was a comfortable double although I do agree with another reviewer who commented that the room was like a sauna. The radiator in our room was big enough to power the entire hotel and despite turning it down I ended up sleeping on top of the bed with the window open.
The bathroom was clean and modern with a very powerful shower so no complaints.
We loved the spa with swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam and sauna rooms. Didn't try out the gym but this seemed very well equipped too.
All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. Food on our first night in the restaurant was plentiful and really well cooked. The large restaurant is a little bit soul-less though which is a shame.

Breakfast is adequate - not as varied as some hotels of a similar standard that I have stayed in.
The full English was extremely greasy on the first morning but seemed to improve on day two of our stay.
We ate in the bar on the second evening and there was an excellent choice of main meals and snacks. My husband really enjoyed the Thai fish curry.
The locals who use the bar as their local are very friendly but the large table of young lads next to us were rather boisterous and loud.

One thing the hotel does lack is a comfortable sitting area with sofas where you can sit and chat or have afternoon tea. After we had eaten there was nowhere else to go apart from the bar area with its formal dining tables & chairs layout. It would have been nice to have somewhere cosy to sit.

One of the major plus points for us was the fact that it accepted dogs. Staff were very accomodating and we were delighted to find that there is no charge for pets.
The hotel does have a lift but depending which room you use, you can be in for a long walk up and down steps and along hallways. This was not a major problem for us though.
Overall we had a very enjoyable two night stay at the Burton Hotel in Kington and I would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Room one is a comfortable double which overlooks the High Street - make sure you turn the radiator o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

having read other comments on here I'm not sure we stayed in the same hotel. Yes the rooms were clean (except the dirty tissue on the floor) and the staff were lovely but we booked a spa hotel with kgb deals and this was not what we expected.
my mum and I had planned a very relaxing weekend in a spa hotel which from pictures on the web site looked to be in nice grounds with a nice big pool. when we arrived we were surprised to find it in the centre of the town with no more than a pub garden.
The room was nice although with the radiator on full more like a sauna and the food average at best.
On Saturday afternoon we thought we'd sit and relax with a glass of wine and a book but the amount of shouting and swearing in the bar and garden really put us off.
If your on a walking holiday I
'm sure this would be a fine place to stay but to say its a spa hotel is a real stretch.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvwplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just had our wedding day may 2nd 2013, decided to have the job lot there, from the ceremony right through to the end. We filled the hotel rooms with family and friends and there not one complaint. The buffet meal was excellent and more than enough, the curries in the evening was really yummy everyone complimented on them, such lovely tasting food, we would like to thank John the owner for his hard work all day, he did exactly what he said he'd do, he took all our worrys away and ran the wedding for us, even took some family home for as we struggled with lifts for them, massive thanks to John for making our day amazing, the bar staff exellent the young girls serving the food out in the day was great and worked hard, breakfast was really good too and plentiful, the pool gym spa etc is bliss well worth a visit, so thanks John to you and your staff for everything that you did on our wedding day, people could pay twenty thousand pound on a wedding! Don't bother book the BURTON HOTEL and the team there for your day, well done and thanks again
Darren & Lorraine

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kington
6.3 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
24.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
224 reviews
15 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
17 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burton Hotel

Address: Mill Street, Kington HR5 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kington
Price Range: $127 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive town centre hotel which has been in the same family ownership for 30 years. 23 large en-suite rooms which includes 6 deluxe bedrooms and 1 deluxe fully disabled access ground floor bedroom in the new south wing. Also in the south wing two new two bedroomed self contained apartments with their own balcony. All rooms have freeview tv with Sky tv in the bar. The bar is open all day every day serving fresh coffee, afternoon tea, meals lunchtime and evening and local real ales. An a la carte restaurant serves meals every evening and there is a large function room which can cater for parties from 20 to 100. Complimentary to all hotel guests is Cloud 9 spa incorporating a palm fringed heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. An all weather 9 hole putting green in the large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Burton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Kington
The Burton Hotel Kington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing