We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality”

The Burton Hotel Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Kington
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Burton Hotel's bar and restaurant are open to non-residents from 8am until late everyday. We serve coffee, tea and hot chocolate from 8am all day, breakfast is available from 8am-9.30am every day. Lunch 12-2pm, dinner 6pm-9.30pm. A reduced bar menu is available from 2pm-6pm. Our bar is open for drinks from 11am until 11pm every day.
castleford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food quality”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Food wasn't great breakfast was okay but evening meal was dreadful made better out of a jar and naan bread was shop bought was expecting. A lot better

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sueduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradisefinder_9, Owner at The Burton Hotel Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback .We are sorry we let you down and we know we can do better .Please let me know when you are back in Kington ,so we can ensure you receive our true Burton hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Noisy Dinner”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked a table for 4 on a Friday night and were welcomed by a rowdy 60th birthday party, complete with dreadful Robbie Williams Tribute act mere feet from our table. Had we known they had such a large party on we would not have stayed as it was very off putting. The staff were lovely though. The wine was reasonable and the curries very good, though my pork was over-cooked and rather less than generous. We didn't stay for dessert, opting instead for getting a bar of chocolate from the Spar and enjoying it in peace at the holiday cottage. Overall, food reasonable, but ask if there are any functions on as it really was loud.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeccaPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stir fry very good, but the Chicken Korma also from the specials ordered turned up as Chicken green thai..... didn't send back (due to time factor) thus the overall score of VG. Beer OK, service fine, toilets clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“exellent food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

i ate at the burton a few weeks ago i ordered a mixed grill the steak was irresistible, i have eaten other places in kington and nothing could match the quality of the food and service i received, my wife was also very impressed with the beef lasagne. we then went on to have sweets, as the waiter kindly recommended the sticky toffee pudding me and my wife both had one each and LOVED it!!! compare to other pubs/hotels in kington thi is one of the best ve been to in a while
good food
good service
lovely atmosphere
Recommended for food !!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We ate two eveings running and enjoyed tasty, well-cooked, honest pub food in convivial market-town bar surroundings, The beer was fine, the staff helpful, the prices very reasonable. We would (evidently) go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burton Hotel Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
Kington, Herefordshire
 
Kington, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Burton Hotel Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing