We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmingly Different B&B on the Offa's Dyke path”
Review of Church House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church House
Ranked #4 of 15 Kington B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2012

When you are clearly staying in someone elses beautiful house - and it is beautiful, there is always the danger that you will feel uncomfortable. Not here. The welcome is - well - welcoming. Very individual, yes, but a welcome that makes you immediately feel at ease.

The rooms are very excellent and the bathroom sumptuous.

Breakfast was a treat - toast is served hot when you need it - a rare host who realises that hot toast is better than cold.

We will try to return later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RyedaleRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed in May 2012 while doing the Offa's Dyke Path and having arrived like a drowned rat on the one wet day of my trek, was immediately put at my ease, damp gear once removed was hung to dry overnight above the Aga in the kitchen and tea and scones served to take the chill out of my bones. Lovely house, nicely situated just on the outskirts of Kington but only 5 minutes walk from shops and pubs. Laid back but very gracious hosts and a nice sense of quirkiness which I loved but might not be to everyone's taste as some of the other reviews make clear. Lovely breakfast next morning and a place I'd be more than happy to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuperSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

As part of a family trip to a local wedding this was a superb overnight stay. Tea and homemade cake in the garden on arrival followed by being shown to rooms that were warm and inviting. A great night's sleep and a full english breakfast made it a real treat. The breakfast was of the highest quality and we were offered as much as we wanted. It was the sort of house you wished you lived in yourself and I would recommend it as a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alastair186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you like family run places with warm welcomes, beautiful surroundings and lovely food and service then I recommend Church House. I, along with 3 other members of my family stayed there last weekend and it was wonderful. They offer 2 rooms in their lovely home and make you feel very welcome from the outset. While there where no en-suite rooms we did have our own private bathroom with a lovley big roll top bath which was very inviting. Church House gardens were beautiful and we sat and enjoyed the sun while taking in our surroundings and the scent from the flowers.
I would absolutely stay with Andrew & Liz Darwin again and would have no hesitation in recommending their hospitality to friends and family. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank razzah36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed for one night as we had a friends wedding locally. Greeted at the car by the owner who helped with bags and showed us to our rooms. Really impressive house and the rooms were tidy. The bed was good and the bathroom was right next door.

The breakfast was yum and just what was needed after the wedding festivities the previous day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mastig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were warmly welcomed, taken straight through to the beautiful back garden and given much needed tea and cake. We'd had a long hot day walking the Offas Dyke path, Church House is an ideal place to stay for this as it's actually on the route so no extra walking required!

They have two rooms in the house that are for B&B customers, the twin room has a sink but the double room doesn't. The bathroom is shared which wasn't a problem for us as we were with friends but obviously not to everyones taste. The bath was huge and there was plenty of hot water for all of us to have a nice soak, there is no shower attachment which was a bit of a problem for me with longer hair it would have been nice to have some fresh water to rinse my hair with, maybe a jug in the bathroom would have helped.

There are no tea making facilities or TV's in the room, it says in their blurb that they don't "ponce around with tea making facilities or TV's in the room and that their accommodation is their family home not a guest house". We feel our stay would of been enhanced with these facilities, sometimes when you're away from home it's nice to stay in touch with what's going on in the outside world and also we like to make ourselves a cup of tea in the room. They did offer to bring a cup of tea to leave outside our room in the morning which we did request for 7am, it turned up at 7.15am, picky I know but if thats the service they offer then thats what they should provide. It really wouldn't take much effort to put a tea tray in the room for people to look after themselves which is what we'd prefer.

The bed looked lumpy but the sheets were very crisp and white and the bed was surprisingly comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. The towels sadly were grey and rough which was a shame.

Breakfast was made a bit more interesting with stewed rhubarb and home made preserves, apart from that there were boxes of basic cereals to help ourselves from. We were told that they serve full English Breakfast which was quite meagre, one rasher of bacon, one fried egg, half a tomato and some mushrooms. My husband was met with astonishment when he requested scrambled egg as an option.

Although the weather was good our bedroom and the dining room were quite cold, it would of been nice to have portable heaters that we could turn on if required. There was a heater of this sort in the dining room but it wasn't used and we were quite chilly having breakfast.

In the evening we went to the Oxford Arms for our evening meal, it's probably the furthest pub from Church House but the food was delicious. It really was home made, not just a catered frozen meal warmed up. It was a substantial meal well cooked and good value for money that I'd recommend to anyone in the area.

All in all I would recommend the Church House certainly for walkers of the Offas Dyke but question whether the hosts are really committed to B&B guests or if they are just a necessity?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We arrived from our walk soaking wet and with a muddy dog in tow. We were ushered inside and fed tea and cake before having a (huge) hot bath (not the dog). It was more like visiting old friends than staying at a b and b. At breakfast we had home made stewed apple as well as a cooked breakfast. Lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mondogold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kington hotels
4 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 15 in Kington
43 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
222 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 15 in Kington
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#7 of 15 in Kington
40 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#14 of 15 in Kington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church House

Address: Church Road, Kington HR5 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Price Range: $123 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church House is a beautiful, spacious Georgian house overlooking the historic town of Kington, close to the Welsh border in north-west Herefordshire. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church House Kington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing