We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Visit”
Review of Bredward Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bredward Farm
2 reviews
“Birthday Visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our first visit to Bredward Farm this year. We came with friends the first week of May to celebrate a birthday, staying in Cider Press Cottage which was immaculate. The welcome pack was waiting for us, just to help us up the calorie count. Lorraine and Ian were on hand as usual to welcome and settle us in. The weather over the preceding weeks had been dreadful with heavy rain that had put the camping and caravan field out of action. Not to be put off by a little bit of flooding Ian just decided he was going to put a drive into the field. This is typical of Lorraine and Ian, nothing is too much trouble and if there is a problem they sort it out. We ventured far and wide visiting, Hay on Wye, Leominster, Hereford and Brecon. Despite the weather we still enjoyed our stay and the comfort of the cottage. We even became bird watchers enjoying the numerous birds visiting the garden, Woodpeckers, Redstarts, Thrush and Goldfinches to name a few. We will back for our second visit at the end of June, only this time in our caravan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
41
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This year was our sixth visit to the Hay Festival and our fourth stay at Bredward Farm. It was as peaceful as ever, Lorraine and Ian were as welcoming as ever, the weather- well we'll leave that...!

We recommend Bredward Farm very highly. We, three of us, stay in Cider Press Cottage, which is comfortable and cosy. We have been known to stray over to the B&B for one of Lorraine's excellent breakfasts, but the self- catering facilitites in the cottage are great, and there is always a welcome pack to get you started when you arrive after your journey.

Thanks Lorraine and Ian, and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWiseman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Dating back to the late 19th century, The Ryland shepherd's hut is like stepping back in time. Warm, cosy, clean, comfortable and beautifully refurbished, it is a wonderful retreat from modern life and our dubious summer weather. Lorraine has put her heart and soul into making a stay in her 'huts' a special experience - the welcome hamper, a fridge of goodies, wood for the stove, wet weather entertainment, authentic sound effects from the neighbouring sheep, a full-on dawn chorus and a family of ducklings are but a few of those 'extra special touches' that make you smile. Lorraine and her husband Ian, are wonderful hosts and both very much make you feel at home. Lorraine provides the most incredible breakfasts and Ian is certainly the entertainment and practical joker! The area surrounding Bredward Farm kept us fully entertained for the long weekend: The Hay Festival gave us a chance to see live music and the likes of Stephen Fry and Jennifer Saunders; The Old Stable Tea Room provided an amazing afternoon tea and local pubs stock a tempting selection of beers and ciders to slowly work your way through! I 'd certainly recommend a trip to the 'Swan Inn' local freehouse - it can't be described, yet must be experienced!!

Room Tip: Try a Shepherd's hut - these are 19th century originals and need to be experienced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is our hot air balloon teams third visit to Bredward Farm. This time we were in the B&B and a team member stayed in the Shepherds hut, which turned out to be the ultimate glamping experience - she loved it. The B&B was fantastic, and none of us wanted to go home!
Breakfast was superb, the conservatory has amazing views over the colourful well planted garden with Hergest ridge in the distance.
We enjoyed our visits to the Hay festival, especially seeing many quality speakers and wandering around the town. I would recommend a visit this time of year as there is a lot to do.
Now plan to return next year as part of a charity fundraising walk of Offas Dyke.
I look forward to seeing Ian and Lorraine the ever attentive and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-WSTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fantastic hosts and lovely surroundings. This is our third visit to Bredward Farm. We have camped here in previous years and this year decided to stay B&B. Despite poor weather during our stay, we have had such an enjoyable time, and our hosts are so friendly and helpful, and full of information about the area, places to eat and visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we have visited Bredward Farm. My wife and I, accompanied by two friends spent a couple of nights in Cider Press Cottage in November. As ever the cottage was outstanding, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. Our friends own their own successful hotel in London and they unreservedly gave the cottage five stars. My wife and I have used the camping / caravan field and the cottage in the past and we have to say that yes, the location is stunning and the work put into making the cottage so lovely is huge. However the thing that makes every holiday we spend at Bredward Farm so marvellous is the welcome we get from Lorraine and Ian. If you need a break away from the pressures of work and life and want to go home feeling refreshed then I can thoroughly recommend Bredward Farm. This applies even if the weather is not so good, we have been in summer and winter. We will definately be returning and this time we must try the famous Lorraine Breakfast. We can recommend The Tram a few miles up the road for good food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bens1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is our third visit to Cider Press cottage: the haven in Herefordshire. Again everything was first class from Lorraine and Ian's welcome to the accommodation itself. We will be returning to the cottage again very soon. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kington hotels
1.2 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.8 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 13 in Kington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#4 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bredward Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bredward Farm

Property: Bredward Farm
Address: Bredward Farm, Kington HR5 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kington
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Bredward Farm Hotel Kington
Bredward Farm Kington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing