We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Lacy House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Lacy House
Ranked #1 of 13 Kington B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We met Susan in her shop and walked to the accommodation and wow! what a beautiful home she shares with her guests. After a 14 mile trek, what could be better than a home from home. Tea and cake awaited us, a choice of 2 beautiful rooms and most importantly a bath for my aching/sore feet. The room was airy, light and very comfortable, fully equipt with those little extras that make it very special. Breakfast was the best with endless choices of cereals, fruits and full english, all served in the most exquisit dining room.
Nothing was too much trouble for Susan who gives 110% and exceeds expectations. Thank you for a fanastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinamarkShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

An overnight stay on a walking trip led to De Lacey House. Behind the
restrained exterior awaits the warmest of welcomes from the proprietor,
a beautifully decorated interior with comfortable beds and very
well appointed bathrooms. Breakfast here was the gastronomic highlight
of the holiday. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

My partner and I needed somewhere to stay whilst visiting my friends in Kington and using trip advisor, I found De Lacy House. I was pleasantly surprised with my first impression and when we were shown to our room, we were extremely pleased. The room was a large twin with en-suit and had everything we needed including tea/coffee making facilities and a jar of homemade biscuits!

Susan the owner was very friendly and chatty and after we unloaded the car, promptly served us with tea and cakes in the front lounge. Susan made us feel very welcome and is an impeccable host.

We chose the twin room with the en-suit as it had a bath, so my partner could enjoy a glass of wine in the bath, whilst I could relax on the bed with a book after a long day driving.

We couldn't fault the breakfast - there was so much to choose from and it was all very nice. The fresh fruit salad with Greek Yoghurt was fantastic.

If you need somewhere relaxing and pleasant to stay whilst in Kington, I would thoroughly recommend De Lacy House.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Bellinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

This has got to be the best B&B we've stayed in. Everything you can think of was covered!! Homemade cakes and tea on arrival and we were quite late she was going to send a search party for us. Susan is a fantastic host, really clean and tastefully decorated, guest sitting room, lovely hot bath/ or shower, awesome breakfast, she has really thought of everything. And beautiful breakfast, cooked and also we had lovely greek yoghurt and fresh fruit salad, and then she made us a packed lunch for our Offa's dyke walk. Really enjoyed our stay immensely and can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed for one night last May while walking part of Offa’s Dyke. Susan is an ideal B&B proprietor – friendly and very hospitable. We arrived rather late and dripping wet but were soon revived with tea and fresh scones – best welcome of the trip! Our room was well equipped and comfortable, as was the guest sitting room. The countryside around is lovely too: we thought the Hergest Ridge to the south particularly fine. Altogether a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

stayed two nights on walking trip. welcome was very friendly, rooms and general house presentation is excellent, breakfast is first class, had salmon on second morning not like me but a real treat. the rooms are good had king bed for me with en suite, all decorated to a high standard, if you are in kington for whatever reason if you need to stay stay at de lacy. the owner proprietor is very friendly and attentive willing to help and has a real enthusiasm for the visitor. ps loved the biscuits.and home made jam.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c017343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed here while walking the whole of Offa's Dyke Path, and this was the best accommodation and the best packed lunch. A tray and newspaper was waiting at the door for our boots and within minutes a tea tray appeared in the sitting room with scones and cakes. The rooms are tasteful and very comfortable and the towels lovely - plus towelling dressing gowns too! Our landlady couldn't have done more for us. The location is central and quiet. A real treat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#2 of 13 in Kington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#3 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#13 of 13 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#6 of 13 in Kington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lacy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lacy House

Property: De Lacy House
Address: 5 Victoria Road, Kington HR5 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
De Lacy House Kington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing