We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Lacy House
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Swan at Hay(Hay-on-Wye)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Priory Hotel(Stretton Sugwas)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Usk Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
$112
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Commodore(Llandrindod Wells)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talbot Hotel(Leominster)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Leominster)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
63
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruit saladporridgetea and cakeb and bpacked lunchon arrivalwalking offa's dykeexcellent breakfastwarm welcometwin roomdressing gownslong dayswhatever reasonchoice of cooked breakfasthay on wyeoxford armsa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 72 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our one night stay here while cycling from Wales to South Yorkshire. We enjoyed tea and cakes on our arrival . The room and bed was very comfortable lots of lovely extras. Susan is very friendly and her breakfast was one of the best we have had and we do stay in B&B a lot. Susan recommended the nearest pub, and we had a a very good meal there too.
This was a wonderful stay Thank you Susan, if we are in the area again we will see you again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raders1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this B&B on the Offa's Dyke accommodation list. Susan was really friendly and after showing us our room offered us tea and cakes in the lounge. She chatted to us and gave us advice about where to eat in Kington. The room was clean and had all the usual tea/coffee making facilities + a jar of biscuits. Although we had a TV in our room we also had use of the lounge if we wished. Attention to detail - bottled water , cotton buds , soaps etc in the room. Susan also gave us the number of a local taxi company ( if we were at risk of missing our train connection at Knighton ). The breakfast was the best we have had for a long time - porridge , a big bowl of fresh fruit ( strawberries, blueberries, kiwi fruit etc) , Greek yogurt , full English breakfast, toast ,big pot of coffee - brilliant !
We also had a bath and a shower in our twin en-suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Welcomed by Susan who had the newspapers already crumpled for my wet walking boots. Had a lovely pot of tea and cake plus a nice chat. My twin room with en suite was first class. Loved the jar of shortbread to go with my coffee later on. I had lovely porridge and a great continental breakfast with yummy breads and rolls. Of the 25 places I've stayed on my walking trip this is in the top 2.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at De Lacy House two nights whilst walking Offa's Dyke (we could not get accommodation in Hay on Wye due to the festival). On arrival Susan gave us tea and home made cake, which was delicious and extremely welcome. Our room was immaculate and she recommended a local pub (a 5 minute walk away) for a meal. The meal in the pub was excellent, we returned to our room for a fantastic nights sleep. Comfy beds, tea / coffee / bottled water in the rooms / lovely dressing gowns.
Breakfast was one of the best I had ever had, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast. Susan's porridge is to die for you have to try it!
A wonderful stay and a wonderful host. Thank you Susan!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olg_12019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked this B & B for 2 nights as we wanted to walk part of of Offa's Dyke way. We had a lovely stay, wonderful landlady Sue who knew the places to eat and drink; very friendly town. It was a "special" birthday and the landlady, gathering from the cards in the room, had a nice bottle of wine and a birthday card for me - it's the little things that make the difference. Wonderful breakfasts including porridge (cooked the proper way not in the microwave) and home-made jams. Rooms nice and clean. The twin-bedded room at the front was ensuite and had a nice shower and a lovely big bath. There was a comfortable lounge with fireplace to sit and read and we were able to park on the road right in front of the house with no problem. A short 5 minute walk to get to the pubs and shops.I would recommend The Lion for a special night out, good food, friendly service and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerstoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews