We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Offa's Dyke”
Review of De Lacy House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Lacy House
Ranked #2 of 15 Kington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at De Lacy house, and had not read the reviews prior to doing so. Having now read some of the reviews, we are both amazed to see that some visitors had chosen to only give four stars, the accommodation and the host are of the very best. Our room was lovely, the bathroom, ours to use only, was spacous and beautifully clean. The breakfast was superb, and whilst we were chatting to Susan, we found her to be a mine of information about the area.I was recommended this accommodation by two walkers who I passed walking North along the path and for that recommendation I am truly thankful. The house was so lovely.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, I assume the rest were also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnWilliams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this b&b in May when we were visiting a local festival. The friendly landlady, Sue, was gracious about our (very) late arrival and still found time to settle us in with a drink and cake, despite the fact that she was going out. We had chosen a twin bedded room with separate bathroom. I believe that the thick, fluffy towels were changed daily. Everything was very clean and there were homemade biscuits in the comfortable bedroom - there was a lovely collection of cushions/throws/patchwork quilts arranged around the house. Breakfast consisted of delicious fresh fruit salad, yoghourts and a tasty cooked breakfast, cooked on demand to iindividual specification. Sue couldn't have been more helpful and informative about the local area and best driving routes etc. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were walking Offa's Dyke and arrived muddy as usual on this trip to our B&B and also in a hurry to go out to meet up with an old friend who was coming into town - and we had another friend with us who'd walked with us for the day but was not staying in Kington. She was offered tea and cakes and a sit down in the front room while we rushed up to our room to change and clean up. How lovely and accommodating! Thanks for this.

We had the attic room which entails a bit of ducking for the one on the left of the bed but the room was large enough for the daily ritual of unpacking/packing bags and rucksacks. We also had a separate bathroom next door (just for us) but as there are no other rooms in the attic, it was quite private. Nice big light and airy bathroom too.

Good choice and plenty of food for breakfast which we ate at a big dining table with another couple and their kids (also walking the Dyke). Sue was very easy and nice to talk with and obviously used to having muddy walkers stay with her!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

De Lacy House is a well-maintained, clean and welcoming B & B. Sue is a mine of accurate information about the area, places to eat, etc. You are greeted with a tea/coffee and a selection of cakes and scones. Breakfast was a cut above the usual with a large bowl of fresh fruit salad as well as the more usual offerings. The rooms are of a good size - mine had both a bath and a shower. Kington itself can be depressing, especially in the wet, but there are places to eat that are 'average to average'.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

De Lacy B&B is a delightful place to stay in Kington. Susan is a gracious host and made us feel very welcoming and comfortable. She spent a great deal of time with us talking about the town and area while she provided tea and cakes. We had a very nice room with great towels! The B&B was just a stones throw from a great pub where we had an exceptional dinner. We felt well rested the next morning and came down to one of the best breakfasts we had on our Offa's Dyke trip! Fresh fruits, yogurts, porridge, homemade jams, etc... fantastic! Susan gave us great suggestions about places in the town to get good sandwiches for our day hike. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return someday.

Jim & Joyce Hanson
Lancaster, PA

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A warm welcome by someone who clearly appreciates what walkers need. Tea/Coffee and cakes offered on arrival and a hearty breakfast (with plenty of choice) was served up to set us on our way the next morning. For anyone who has done a long distance walk, any B&B that can offer a bath in the en-suite should be considered a luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usr020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was one of the best B&B's on our week's walking of the southern section of Offa's Dyke. It was extremely comfortable. The twin bedded room with ensuite had a large bath and a separate shower with a good range of toiletries to ease our tired limbs. The beds were comfortable with good quality bed linen. Susan's attention to detail is what made the B&B stand out above others. The homemade cakes and tea on arrival in the guest's lounge, bottles of mineral water in the room together with homemade biscuits in a kilner jar, a decent hairdryer and white fluffy towels and bathrobes all added to the comfort. Breakfast was tasty and the only B&B where we were offered fresh fruit salad and greek yogurt, as well as the usual full English, which was a welcome change. We had dinner at the Oxford Arms just a very short walk from the guest house; don't be put off by the exterior or indeed the interior, the food is tasty, plenty of it and very affordable and cheap beer.

Room Tip: There is a twin room with ensuite bathroom on the front of the house and a double room to the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c3gomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kington hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hill House B&B
Castle Hill House B&B
#1 of 15 in Kington
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 15 in Kington
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Firs Cottage Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Bench Mark B&B
The Bench Mark B&B
#5 of 15 in Kington
40 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Newburn Farm
#14 of 15 in Kington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Lacy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Lacy House

Address: 5 Victoria Road, Kington HR5 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Kington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kington
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
De Lacy House Kington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing