We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely few days”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Lodge Hotel
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely few days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go again. The staff were friendly, the room immaculate and there was a cafe nearby to eat if needed. There was easy access to and from the bar which was very useful if one had questions to ask.The hotel is child friendly. A shame breakfast wasn't provided but we were told we could use the kitchen if we needed to. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    20
    23
    37
See reviews for
54
63
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped at this place just off junction 20 of the M25. I can not think of one good thing to say about this pub/restaurant. The food was poor the service terrible waited just under 1 hour for Sunday lunch and we (a party of 4 adults and 2 children) arrived at 12.30 and there was only 1 other table occupied. We asked for a large bottle of water and a small one arrived, we asked for 2 straws for the children, never arrived,asked for apple sauce for the pork roast and it came as the meal was coming to an end. My wife ordered scampi and when it arrived was so over cooked that she was left with just crunchy breadcrumbs with little sign of any fish in the centre, when we took this up with the young lad who served us he said isn't supposed to be like that?The plates,knives,forks and spoons Bradley stained with hard crusted food stuck to them. I can understand why so many pubs are closing down when customer service like this is so poor. Vote with your feet and do not give your well earned money to a place like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kings Langley hotels

London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We enjoyed a meal last night at the kings lodge . We were celebrating a 50th Wedding Anniversary with a large group. The staff were very accommodating and helpful . The food was good, portions were a little over generous. The staff paid particular attention to my three year old daughter offering her a free sandwich and ice cream which was appreciated. Really nice little garden out the back of the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryhounddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place makes awful seem attractive.
There is not one good thing about the place. It seemed that a very pleasant group of teenagers had been left in charge. The food is terrible. The noise of the pub and the trains will stop you sleeping. I am not sure what else can be said.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I'm not a picky woman when it comes to hotels (the door locks!five stars for you!) but I was truly disappointed with this one. To begin with, I wasn't actually in the building, I was down the road in their 'sister' building. Which was fine except that was above a pub that kept the adjoining door from their bar to our entrance open, which I found unnerving. Once safely ensconced in the room I was given, it became very clear that the sheets had been previously slept in (unless there is a fabric softener that smells like man) and the single glazed window was about as much use as a chocolate teapot with that main road close by (so close that you could spit on it...if you want to...yuck) I was willing to forgive all of this (the door locked you see) but I felt that the amount I was paying I deserved clean sheets once in a while, or a refill on the tea bags. Whoever made my bed in the morning (what is the point if you are not going to change the sheets?) also left bleach on the bathroom window (healthy and safety...should not do that) and left a roll of bin liner in my bin rather than actually put one in there. I was made to feel embarrassed and awkward by a member of staff in the bar/restaurant who felt it was completely fine to exclaim loudly that I was on my own in a bar full of men (I am a young woman so apparently this idea was ridiculous)
The following week I stayed at a nearby chain hotel, which only cost £80 more, and I got clean sheets every day, a double glazed window, tea refills everyday and restaurant staff that had no problem with my solo status. So no, it was not good value for money, it was just shoddy, from start to finish.

Room Tip: Do not just photos, they lie! Try not stay here at all if you can help it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friend and I just had a one night stay in this hotel the rooms were lovely, the only let down was that there was no air conditioning which meant the rooms were hot especially at the time we stayed as it was a hot week, the showere was lovely however, the stay was very convenient for our trip to The making of Harry Potter Studio tour, the satff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful thank you will def stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just had a fab two night stay (Fri and Sat) at this pub with my family. Warmly greeted by Clive who could not have done enough for us. Treated us and our children along with our dogs absolutely superbly! He was super helpful along with his staff. They hosted a great party for a family member on the Saturday. A mix of guests attended young and older but they were all catered for and the atmosphere was lovely. Clive seems to work constantly from morning to night but always with a smile on his face! A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraT_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Langley
0.4 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Lodge Hotel

Property: Kings Lodge Hotel
Address: 28 Bridge Road, Kings Langley WD4 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Kings Langley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kings Langley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kings Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Lodge Hotel Kings Langley, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing