We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and 13 friends had booked a Golf weekend here, we arrived on Sunday morning played golf and came back to book in. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is excellent.
We dined on the Sunday night and the choice is amazing, again the staff in the resturant were very friendly. Breakfast on the Monday morning again spoilt for choice.
The course is a real challenge and most golfers would enjoy.
On the whole a great venue. Would recommend not just for golfers but also couples.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, its great to hear you had such a great weekend.

Im glad you enjoyed the Course, we have invested a lot of time and money in to Golf at the Manor of Groves, and you can see the fruits of our labour now. Its not an easy course, as you say, and Im glad you appriciated it.

Hope we can welcome you back again soon or to our sister hotel and golf course at Shendish Manor, which has as good facilities as we do, albeit a slightly less challenging golf course.

Kind Regards
Dean Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 657 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

As a Mother's Day treat my family booked me in for a rest :-) I had a treatment, Therapist was very sweet I asked her to turn off the heater off which she did as it was very loud.the clock was making a lot of noise that she just had down without me asking which is very thoughtful.
Staff were lovely and very helpful. Food was fab too. If you want a rest and too chill great place to come

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Great to hear you had such a nice stay with us!

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just arrived, what a lovely place, lots on offer, treatments very reasonable. Rooms are very good for the price, we also have breakfast and evening meal included. The swimming pool is big and towels are provided.

Room Tip: We have a family room, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Great to know you had a great time with us! My team always look forward to recieving great feedback for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kindest regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed new years eve and had a sit down meal with friends in The Colonnade, much to our delight.
•Laura was her usual friendly efficient patient self in sorting out our various requests
•We were lucky enough to have Room 6 - Wow! To my modest tastes, that was quite fantastic ... and quite up to my style of feeling at home!!
•We felt the food was superb
•Charlotte and Danielle were excellent: warm welcome and recognition (Oh gawd, here they come again?!) and efficient, purposeful and business-like management of a number of delightful young staff
•Beautiful sunshine laid on for New Year's Day!
•Excellent breakfast
•All round, a wonderful way to spend New Year's Eve, especially returning to a place that has such happy memories and such genuinely welcoming friendly staff.
Very many thanks to all of you for running so well such a wonderful venue and so close to home.

Hoping to visit you again soon, in August and 31.12.13 and quite likely some excuse before that!

Room Tip: Room 6, or "old side" of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel with 6 friends to celebrate a birthday, and must say it such good value for money. We had an excellent meal on Saturday Night, good service from polite staff and fantastic food. Plenty of choice and a very varied choice.Also we found that the bar prices were very reasonable which is very unusual for such a lovely hotel. I just felt that I must just write to say that we were very disappointed with the fact that we had to sit in Reception for the evening to celebrate our friends birthday. It is such a beautiful hotel and is spoilt by the fact that they have no proper bar area. Also because they was a big event going on the doors in the Reception bar was opening all evening and we were very uncomfortable because it was soo cold. Also there was a shocking buzzing noise in our bedroom (207) which drove me crazy all night. And finally we went down to breakfast at 9.30 and by the time we had cereal and tea went to the Grill at about 9.55, to find only 1 slice of bacon and 2 eggs left. One of the ladies serving asked what I looking for and when I said a cooked breakfast was told the restaurant closed at 10. I couldnt really believe my ears because we often stay away and have never been told that the food stops dead on 10 o clock. If that is the case we should have been told at the Reception when we booked in that we would get no food after 10. They did cook some bacon for us but we felt very bad about it. This review doesnt sound too good but the point I am making is that "If you dont tell them They dont know" so these little things might help for you to sort out. But Manor of Groves we had a lovely time and we loved your hotel and will be coming back. Yours Christine Kent

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clayhalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went for a ' Winter warmer' deal at only £110 for evening meal and B&B. The hotel is very good value. Had to ask for a change of room as first room was next to boiler room at a little noisy. The hotel has a pool and steam/sauna to use. Unfortunately this is also used by local children for swimming lessons. They were well behaved but if you were after a kid free weekend this may not be for you.
The evening meal was a good standard, the staff friendly if a little inexperienced. Good choice for breakfast. The grounds around the hotel look pleasant but the weather was not suitable for a walk. Overall the hotel is great value if slightly a little tired around the edges (the lift button in reception! ).
On a separate note the village pub has an EXCELLENT choice of real ales.
Would I stay at Manor of Groves again? definitely yes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmartieMartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Regards
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here as a single traveller on business in January.
The hotel is in lovely grounds which were covered in snow.
Plenty of parking available.
Room - the room was quickly changed by reception due to identified electrical sockets which were insecure in the wardrobe. However the duty manager could not find the fault i reported even though I offered to show them. Wires exposed was a h&s issue for me. Room was of an acceptable standard and would benefit of a make over. The heater was very small for the room size during the cold snap.
Reception - Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offered free wifi in the room and reception.
Gym & spa - not used.
Food - evening meal was best described as average from the restaurant. Would consider the bar meal next time. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very pleasant and there were no complaints.
Would return again if working in Harlow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerMOG, General Manager at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. The maintenance issue was highlighted to the maintenance team and rectified. Thank you for bringing it to our attention

Kind Regards,
Dean Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wych
4.0 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,697 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Of Groves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Of Groves Hotel

Address: High Wych, High Wych CM21 0JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > High Wych
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in High Wych
Price Range: $74 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Of Groves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Manor Of Groves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manor Of Groves
Manor Groves
Manor Of Groves High Wych
Manor Of Groves Hotel High Wych, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing