We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just back from a 5 night stay at The Shendish Manor. Loved everything about the hotel the room, the food, the staff ( so friendly and accommodating ) and the location. We stayed mid week and it was so quiet. Would definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a twin room ( 66 ) very nicely decorated and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 319PetraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 916 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

My partner and I have just enjoyed a fabulos over night stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Staff were exceptionally friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
I would give an excellent for service but breakfast was a bit chaotic and needs better organisation. Somethings were not layed up properly and as food and drink ran out there was quite a delay in replenishing even the juice.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will book again.

Room Tip: Room 9 was lovely and large with a beautiful view but the heating was not working - we were given 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank championj070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Business trip. Arrived 21:00. Not the easiest entrance to spot at night and the satnav got it a bit wrong to start. Nice country house hotel and golf club. Rooms large, well decorated, clean. Nice sized bathroom. Bath was very slippy and no side rails for support. Wifi worked well and no log in needed. My colleague had dinner and said it was good. I slept well. Breakfast room facing onto large gardens made for a very pleasant experience. Buffet was standard but certainly fit for purpose. Hope I get to visit again. Well recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Booked a hen party afternoon tea sunday 23.3.2014. We had already had the weekend away and wanted something that all ages could enjoy. Shendish Manor did us proud. Everyone had a good time, lovely food and fantastic surroundings. We had a private room as there were 27 of us.
The room was amazing crystal chandeliers, soft funiture, own bar and bar man. Everyone was very impressed.
Have to say big thankyous to some staff at Shendish.
Beth from their functions team she is awesome. Every hotel should have a Beth.
Tom our barman who was lovely, all the mums wanted to take him home. He took all our jokes really well and made the day.
So if you are looking for something different go ahead and book Shendish Manor i dont think you will be disappointed

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Golf: country club style hotel in grounds quiet spacious surroundings. Good parking, check in, room was nice clean and modern. Beds were not super comfy and walls were a but thin (we were in the more modern extension). Breakfast next morning had plenty of choice, we arrived towards the end of service and some of our fry up was a little cold. Overall a pleasant stay and not far from Harry potter world which was the purpose of our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a front facing room in the main part of the house which has been tastefully extended. The grounds and surrounding golf course offer a quiet country setting and a pleasant walk into the nearby village. Each member of staff proved to be extremely professional and helpful throughout and all credit to manager Beth and her team who provided a personal touch by going out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and made our stay such a delight. The restaurant is pleasant and airy with the tables nicely spaced. The menus offer a reasonable choice and the food is first class. Among other things we enjoyed the best steak we've had in a very long time. Drinks prices are a bit on the high side but the bar has a good selection.Our room was spacious and comfortably appointed (but no trouser press!!) and the huge bed offered a good nights sleep although the pillows were a bit inflexible. The only thing missing (apart from the trouser press) was a swimming pool.

Room Tip: The views from rooms at the front of the main house are picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Used this hotel as stop over for the harry potter studio. Excellent accommodation ad lovely food especially the breakfast. Rooms where cosy and whole hotel had that grand feeling. I would highly recommend this hotel and visit the gardens if you get a chance very beautiful. Would make an awesome wedding destination. Staffwhere very friendly and polite

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tuor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
6.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $75 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing