We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception at the venue. Getting there by car is easy to get to and has plenty of parking. The building is spacious, has a combination of old architectural features and a new extension. Has a great outdoor area. Parking and staff were good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    270
    115
    51
    35
See reviews for
132
308
11
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

we stayed for 5 nights in February 2014. Had a pleasant stay, food was good and staff were pleasant enough. Would have expected a better service for guests whom were staying 5 nights, i.e. were still charged for blackcurrant squash and were told that Sunday roast was sold out despite not being asked to book. However, on the whole all was ok, but not worth the expense. You can find better and cheaper.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank marathon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We held our wedding reception here on Friday 21st February 2014 and we would both just like to say a very big thank you to Laura and all the wonderful staff at Shendish Manor for making our wedding day so special.

It was perfect from the moment we arrived on the Thursday to when we left on the Saturday morning.

Another extra big thank you has to go to Victoria for everything she did on the day. Our wedding day ran smoothly from start to finish ... it was just a shame that it all went so quickly!

We have had lots of lovely feedback from our guests and they have all said what an amazing day they had and how much they enjoyed themselves.

Thank you again from the new Mr & Mrs Bamford!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Bamford

Congratulations for your big day and thank you for choosing Shendish Manor to host one of the most important days of your lives.

I’m so pleased to hear that everything ran well and the team delivered in all aspects from start to finish. Thank you for recognising the hard work put in from Laura and Victoria I know special mentions like this do mean a lot to the team.

I hope that you will both continue using Shendish Manor in the future and many more special occasions to come.

All the very best

James Barker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Myself and my husband recently stayed here on a snow and stay package. We booked one night with snowboarding around Valentines day and loved the entire experience so much that we decided to book the following week also. The hotel is absolutely beautiful surrounded by stunning grounds. We chose to upgrade to a four poster room and I would highly recommend this as the room and bathroom were stunning! The dinner at the Shendish manor was also to die for and I would strongly recommend their steak and chocolate fondant with blood orange icecream! The staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! Thank you to all at Shendish for making our stays so truly fabulous and you will be seeing us VERY soon!
Nadine & Darren

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at the hotel twice...and both times- enjoyed.
Very polite,professional staff- at the hotel and the restaurant...- we did have breakfast and dinner...,although,one of the nights hotel was much busier,due to the function ,they had,I think....
Clean,Quiet,lovely breakfast...
Would stay again....thank you!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yelena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and ate dinner in the restaurant. Food was average for this type of place, but the beds were awful. Uncomfortable mattresses and lumpy pillows like bags of cement do not make for a restful nights' sleep. However, the staff were extremely helpful and cheerful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lewienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shendishmanager, General Manager at Shendish Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I’m very disappointed to read you would rate us poor to average. We have a high number of guests who stay with us daily who on a whole all rate us very well.

We have just employed a new Head Chef and within the month a new improved menu will be launched in our Restaurant.

We are also looking to invest this year into new beds and bedding throughout the hotel where required.

I’m glad to hear our team were helpful and I hope you will return to us in the future to see the improvements we’re putting in place.

Kind regards

James Barker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a great one night stay at the hotel. Overall the room was clean and as it was in the new part of the hotel, it was in great condition.
We really enjoyed dinner and breakfast, most of the dishes we had were good and the service was excellent. We particularly liked the quick check in and check out ! I highly recommend the restaurant, dinner was very good. Only negative is toilets in reception area weren't clean ( I assume due to the busy wedding that was
on).
Also its a shame there aren't more services at the hotel ( like spa facilities) as there was only golf.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing