We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and a Little Pleasure A+”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Business and a Little Pleasure A+”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is just a short note to let you know that a colleague and I had a fantastic time staying with Shendish Manor last week (16-19 Apr 13).

The administration was superb, the welcome and all of the staff we encountered were warm and accommodating, the golf was good and the food was really something rather quite exquisite!

We rated this experience so highly that we have passed on our heartfelt thanks and compliments direct to all of the staff that looked after us. It truly was a most enjoyable business trip.

We have already reported that we would love to come and stay with Shendish Manor again should business bring us to their neck of the woods in the future and we have no reservations in pass on their details and making appropriate recommendation to our families, friends and colleagues alike.

A magnificent experience. Well done indeed!

Room Tip: If you don't like a firm bed, then make sure you ask for a soft bed, as whilst the bed's are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    280
    125
    56
    40
See reviews for
141
321
11
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the first time visiting Shendish Manor and as part of a wedding party I couldn't fault it. The venue was spot on, and the staff were great. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable. All in all I think as a wedding venue you can't go wrong, so worth taking a look at Shendish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for our first anniversary. It's quite a large manor house situated next to a golf course very close to the M25. It isn't effected by traffic noise though. Check-in was swift, although I had paid for the 'half board special', I was told that I was on the normal bed and breakfast rate 'for the moment'. We were checked into a room in the new wing.

The room was fairly large, the view overlooked a field but was right next to a service road. This didn't however cause any noise problems. Bed was large and comfortable. It had all the usual amenities, tea & coffee, iron and hairdryer. Bathroom was a tad on the small size but was functional and had the usual shower attachment in the bath. The usual 'freeview' channels were available on the TV.

We ate at the Orangery restaurant in the hotel in the evening (see my separate review). There are a number of bars situated at the hotel and it has 24 hour room service.

Breakfast was fine and lazy on a very pleasant Sunday morning. Cooked was available on a self service heated trolley. Plus all the usual cereals and yogurts and toast. Sunday papers were also lade out.

On checkout we had been changed to the 'all inclusive half board special', it seems they wait for you to have a qualifying meal first. So all that was left to settle was the bar bill. The half board special actually works out very good value considering the quite high prices on the Orangery restaurant menu.

Overall a very pleasant stay. As mentioned we stayed in the new wing, I can't comment on the state of the original rooms, but it may well be worth requesting one in the new wing.

Room Tip: The new wing seems to offer the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just got married here in April. the venue was lovely the staff where great and the day ran amazing!!

The food was amazing as they catered for 50+ quests a 3 course meal and everyone's plates where sent back empty

I would highly recommend Shendish Manor to get married as I feel they run a great ship!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battleroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I spent a night at Shendish Manor with 9 other girlfriends for my sisters hen weekend.
We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.
The staff couldn't do enough for us! They were all so friendly and so helpful.
I even asked for a larger room for myself and my sister so everyone can come in our room for some games and so we got given one of the huge family rooms! It was everything we expected and more.
I 100% won't hesitate to stay there again - a lovely hotel, a great restaurant, fab food and friendly staff.
What more do you want?!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireyK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the nicest couple of days at Shendish, The Staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble.. The hotel has such a nice feeling about it. We had both lunch and dinner in the restaurant and they were fabulous. Definately will be coming back soon!

Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Manor and it was lovely to look out of the window at the whole estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerwatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

the location of the hotel exsellent less than one hour from heathrow airport and also from Silverstone.there is plenty of car parking .the building is nice and the room was good have good bed,TV,chairs and it was very cleanThere were tea and coffee facilities in the room .outside there is gardens where you can see squirrels,birds and rabbits.Dinner was very nice in the on-site restaurant.it is good value for money at 75 GBP for a double room including breakfast compare with other many places i stayed with similar price

Room Tip: upstairs room would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
6.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing