We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place and good but never shines” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shendish Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shendish Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Nice place and good but never shines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I should say this is a nice hotel. Nice building and grounds which make for a nice location to stay.
I have stopped here on many occasions over the past year and whilst I do like the hotel if never quite hits the spot and frequently has niggling issues.
Check in is always good with friendly well trained staff.
There are two styles of room, those in the old part of the hotel which have a little more old world character and this in the new part of the hotel which are modern but tasteful and comfortable.
The food is nice at both dinner and breakfast but the service can frequently be hit and miss which can take the shine off either meal. It often seems to be made far more complicated than it needs to be.
The general feel of the hotel with decor and atmosphere is nice which makes for a pleasant stay if on business as a couple or group of friends.
There is free wifi across the hotel which is a fab addition, well done Shendish there are so many hotel that insist on charging for this. The wifi has often been tempremetal and required intervention to get it working but is always does in the end!

The bar is an extension of the restaurant with a poor selection of standard beers and ok service at the usual high hotel prices, I feel the bar could be so much better than it is currently and considering the customers the hotel gets.

So overall a nice location in Kings Langley, with a reasonable room rate. Food is good if a little pricey with service that is hit and miss on the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    267
    110
    47
    34
See reviews for
131
302
11
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here recently for my brothers wedding. Everything was superbly set out for them and the day was spectacular. The food and service was very good. My only complaint was we didn't have a bed
Made up in the room for our daughter which when I spoke to reception they apologised and assured me it would be done however on returning from afternoon tea still no bed made again reception assured me that it would be done and again sadly on returning from the wedding evening reception after having a few drinks we had to make up her bed ! However when checking out next day I mentioned it and suitable reduction in the bill showed empathy towards our ordeal at 1am so all in all a fantastic stay was had by my family and I and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

After a previously unsatisfactory stay with Shendish Manor, we received an offer from the manager to stay once more in order for them to rectify the situation.
I'm so glad we did. It was the most enjoyable and luxurious hotel experience we have ever had in England, with no exaggeration.
Over the course of our entire stay, we were made to feel like royalty. The room (room 2 in the main building on the first floor) was astoundingly beautiful; a double aspect four-poster room tastefully and elegantly decorated with en-suite roll top bath and separate shower. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel and restaurant was clean, well-managed and visibly manned. The grounds were perfectly manicured (even in the height of Winter) and even offered us several glimpses of the local wildlife. The restaurant had a calm and friendly ambience with music and candles and we found it to be a very romantic experience. The food was obviously a well thought out culmination of seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared and exactly as we requested, served in good time with unobtrusive waiting staff. I ordered the goat's cheese tart, pan-fried sea bass with crushed new potatoes and the lemon tart to finish. And we shared a lovely bottle of Merlot (served at the right temperature!).

It was an altogether special experience and we would love to come back and stay again soon, or perhaps in the Summer when we can picnic in the grounds and walk around the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Pay more for an entirely better room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haypat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for one night with friends to celeberate a Birthday. Rooms clean and comfortable. Check in very quick & receptionist very helpful. We had lunch in the bar which was the triple sandwich. All was ok, until I found a sliver of wood in the side salad! I showed it to a member of the bar staff & he said he would tell the chef. No apology was forthcoming, so I decided to report it to another member of bar staff. She told me that the kitchen staff had a laugh over it - not very professional. She then apologised & said the sliver of wood probably came off wooden crate that the salad was delivered in! This got me thinking - do they wash the salad? The sandwich was very nice. Dinner in the evening, was well presented and very delicious. Breakfast was very good also - there were a couple of gripes though. There were preserves on the table, but a small pot of marmalade had already been opened & used. Secondly, the floor under our table/chairs had not been hoovered & there were crumbs everywhere. Other than just a couple of small issues, we had a good stay at this hotel & would recommend it. Management just need to up their game a little to ensure these small issues are taken care of & not dismissed. Good hotel & would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zebedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently tried the food in the restaurant at Shendish Manor as well as a room . This was with a view to holding my sons Weding reception there in May.
We where not dissapointed ,the food is truly superb ,try the blade of Beef with Horseradish Mash . We sampled many other dishes all of which came up to the same standard .
The staff are very helpfull and the old manor house is a very nice place to be.The modern side of the hotel and the golf is also top notch,the extensive grounds wonderfull.
My Sons weding reception is now booked .

Room Tip: Twin beds in the modern side of the Hotel.Standard doubles in the Manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stormbringer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed here a few times with work now and it's a lovely place, both evening meal and breakfast are good. Rates are reasonable and the staff are pleasant. Not far from the train station and parking is very good. The rooms are very nicely done with really comfy beds and flat screen TV's. This is one of only a couple hotels I have stayed in where the free wifi actually works! Yep overall spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

lovely venue great surroundings in the summer - in the snow not so pleasing. great welcome and ambience all round but our room although luxurious - shower boiling hot with no controls to moderate the temperature so spoilt the stay a bit. the evening meal and the breakfast made up for it though and we had a shower when we got home! husband got lost in the hotel as the lift controls a little confusing and not very clearly indicated when you were on the floor where the Reception area was. quite amusing stay altogether!

Room Tip: ask at reception whether the water temperature in room 4 has been resolved
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anitacrawley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.1 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shendish Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shendish Manor Hotel

Property: Shendish Manor Hotel
Address: London Rd, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shendish Manor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shendish Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shendish Manor Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing