We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveler rating
400
332
156
76
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
332
156
76
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teanew winglovely groundsgolf breakgolf cluborangery restaurantsconesbridal suitelovely hotelwedding breakfastwedding venuecourse dinnerfour posterwedding receptionlovely roomchristmas party
Filter
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As in some other reviews we found the place itself attractive and inviting but the finer and all important detail was very much lacking. The room (in the new annex) was larger than similar standard of hotels and pleasantly decorated but the remainder of the room facilities indicated a penny pinching and mean approach. No bottled water, no face cloths, no alarm clock, no slippers, no dressing gowns and a very very hard and uncomfortable bed. The air conditioning heating system did not work and there was no way to heat the room which was somewhat cold. The bathroom was so small and fixtures had been really crammed in. The shower did not function properly as a major leak in the pipe was spraying out water thus reducing pressure to the shower head. One tiny piece of soap was provided and the toiletries were of the poorest quality and the shampoo may even have been refilled. There was no heated towel rail and nowhere to hang towels except a double hook on the back of the door.
The only food experienced was the breakfast which really was little better than a motorway service area breakfast with fried eggs that can only be described as rubber eggs. I am relieved that we had already made arrangements to dine elsewhere for the two nights of our stay.
On a more positive note the staff were cheerful, polite and helpful and having asked for a quiet room we were given one.
In summary this hotel gives the impression that it is in financial difficulty as it has to reduce its costs by any possible means no matter what the effect is on the guest. We shall not be returning!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tyke007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel taking up one of its dinner, bed and breakfast offers. Sadly over recent years we have become used to UK hotels failing to live up to their advertised standards. This cannot be said of our experience at Shendish Manor! In brief, we were satisfied in all respects bar one very minor one. We arrived earlier than expected but reception checked that our room was ready and confirmed that it was immediately available at no extra cost. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room in the new wing spacious, meticulously clean and the beds firm and comfortable. Well furnished, it lacked no amenity. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive even though there was a golf club dinner taking place. The hotel's web site had suggested that visitors check whether weddings etc would be taking place and we accepted that the normal bar would not be available because of a private function. Our evening meals were flavoursome and imaginative and breakfast offered sufficient variety of food to suit most palates. I should stress that neither of us are epicures.

Our very minor disappointment was that while you could purchase a glass - rather than a bottle - of champagne with afternoon tea, only whole bottles were available in the evening. We asked why; the question appeared to be in the too difficult category for the duty manager!

The scenic surroundings are unexpected so near to Hemelhempstead and surprisingly quiet considering the motorways and major roads in the vicinity. Yes, it is up a hill but having cycled along the Grand Union Canal in the afternoon, we simply got off and walked the final half-mile. Overall, a welcome change from the usually disappointing hotels in the UK. It compared favourably with a central London club.

Room Tip: It would seem that the new wing offers quieter rooms. Do as the hotel suggests and check whether noisy functions clash with your stay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BINB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We held our recent company 10th Anniversary dinner & dance at Shendish Manor and we were very well looked after, the function ran smoothly under the supervision of the Shendish team on hand.

This was a great venue for our corporate function; we hired the Apsley suite which held our 140 guests (14 round tables of 10) with a dance floor in the middle and bar at one side. The food, table service and general organisation of the Shendish Team was 1st class and we would highly recommend.

If you want a venue that is well organised and has beautiful surroundings, then this is the venue for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went as a party of 40 - comprising 32 golfers and 8 non golfers for a golfing society weekend with two rounds of golf - one on Saturday PM and the other on Sunday AM. Inspite of hopeless communications / coordination by the golf package provider Shendish Manor staff on duty manged to provide an excellent and curtious service with a smile - good quality accomodation, good food and excellent service.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful surroundings. Very picturesque especially when seated in the restaurant/bar.
Service was friendly and attentive.

However: if you don't have a car it's not practical. About a two mile walk from Apsley train station up hill. They have no car service and there are rarely cab at that stations.
Real problem here is inside the room. The bed was like a sheet on concrete block. I have *never* had such an aweful mattress. The towels were old, thin and course. The counter in the bathroom was tiny. No bottled water in the room, no alarm clock. The AC didn't cool the room.
But it was quiet and clean, service was friendly - but is just was not comfortable. A shame really -- I wanted it to be excellent. It would take a little and this place would be spectacular. The grounds and surroundings are really lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews