We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveler rating
400
332
157
76
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
332
157
76
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teanew winglovely groundsgolf breakgolf cluborangery restaurantsconesbridal suitelovely hotelwedding breakfastwedding venuecourse dinnerfour posterwedding receptionlovely roomchristmas party
Filter
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel taking up one of its dinner, bed and breakfast offers. Sadly over recent years we have become used to UK hotels failing to live up to their advertised standards. This cannot be said of our experience at Shendish Manor! In brief, we were satisfied in all respects bar one very minor one. We arrived earlier than expected but reception checked that our room was ready and confirmed that it was immediately available at no extra cost. We were pleasantly surprised to find the room in the new wing spacious, meticulously clean and the beds firm and comfortable. Well furnished, it lacked no amenity. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive even though there was a golf club dinner taking place. The hotel's web site had suggested that visitors check whether weddings etc would be taking place and we accepted that the normal bar would not be available because of a private function. Our evening meals were flavoursome and imaginative and breakfast offered sufficient variety of food to suit most palates. I should stress that neither of us are epicures.

Our very minor disappointment was that while you could purchase a glass - rather than a bottle - of champagne with afternoon tea, only whole bottles were available in the evening. We asked why; the question appeared to be in the too difficult category for the duty manager!

The scenic surroundings are unexpected so near to Hemelhempstead and surprisingly quiet considering the motorways and major roads in the vicinity. Yes, it is up a hill but having cycled along the Grand Union Canal in the afternoon, we simply got off and walked the final half-mile. Overall, a welcome change from the usually disappointing hotels in the UK. It compared favourably with a central London club.

Room Tip: It would seem that the new wing offers quieter rooms. Do as the hotel suggests and check whether noisy functions clash with your stay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BINB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We held our recent company 10th Anniversary dinner & dance at Shendish Manor and we were very well looked after, the function ran smoothly under the supervision of the Shendish team on hand.

This was a great venue for our corporate function; we hired the Apsley suite which held our 140 guests (14 round tables of 10) with a dance floor in the middle and bar at one side. The food, table service and general organisation of the Shendish Team was 1st class and we would highly recommend.

If you want a venue that is well organised and has beautiful surroundings, then this is the venue for you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went as a party of 40 - comprising 32 golfers and 8 non golfers for a golfing society weekend with two rounds of golf - one on Saturday PM and the other on Sunday AM. Inspite of hopeless communications / coordination by the golf package provider Shendish Manor staff on duty manged to provide an excellent and curtious service with a smile - good quality accomodation, good food and excellent service.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful surroundings. Very picturesque especially when seated in the restaurant/bar.
Service was friendly and attentive.

However: if you don't have a car it's not practical. About a two mile walk from Apsley train station up hill. They have no car service and there are rarely cab at that stations.
Real problem here is inside the room. The bed was like a sheet on concrete block. I have *never* had such an aweful mattress. The towels were old, thin and course. The counter in the bathroom was tiny. No bottled water in the room, no alarm clock. The AC didn't cool the room.
But it was quiet and clean, service was friendly - but is just was not comfortable. A shame really -- I wanted it to be excellent. It would take a little and this place would be spectacular. The grounds and surroundings are really lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Shendish Manor Hotel while visiting local family on a Saturday night. The room cost £150 for the night.

We checked in at midday to discover that two weddings were being held at the hotel that day and both receptions would continue into the evening. The staff were clearly overwhelmed with the volume of people and the Duty Manager was nowhere in sight (we asked twice at the desk).

Our room was very pretty and large at the top of the hotel in the eaves of the oldest part of the building. Unfortunately it was a hot day and without air conditioning we needed to open the windows. The largest wouldn't open while the other large(ish) window was above .... where the wedding guests congregated. So we endured their banter, laughter, cigarette smoke and DJ music until midnight while we tried to sleep in a very hot room with two small fans whirring the air around.

Breakfast was fine (we had room service which arrived 15 minutes early) the next morning and we checked out.

I wrote a complaint email after staying here and nearly a week later I received a response denying there were any issues and suggesting we should have contacted the Duty Manager at the time. If only.

From what I could see the hotel seem to put on very nice weddings, but beware if you are just a normal paying guest as you certainly come second fiddle should they be holding an event.

Room Tip: The old rooms are not air conditioned Loft rooms are light and airy and well decorated Stay in winter when there are less weddings & functions
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews